Spicy Perogy Pizza

Fishbowl Friday at Boston Pizza is one of my favorite ways to spend a Friday evening.  Where else can you drink a cocktail from a fishbowl and it be perfectly acceptable?

Of course you need have some food to go along with that fishbowl.  I’d been eyeing the spicy perogy pizza on Boston Pizza’s menu for probably a year before I actually ordered it.  I wanted to try it, but I was always worried it would be gross and that would be a waste.  I thought the whole putting potatoes on a pizza thing was weird.  Trust me, it’s not.  After I tasted the pizza, I realized I was a fool to have ever doubted its deliciousness.  I mean, how could I have thought it wouldn’t be good?  It’s carb heaven!  What’s there not to like?  Cheese?  GOOD.  Sour cream?  GOOD.  Bacon?  GOOD.

So after ordering the spicy perogy pizza several Fishbowl Fridays in a row, I decided to check my good old friend the internet to see if I could find a way to enjoy my new favorite pizza at home.  There’s no Boston Pizza in my town and I needed a way to satisfy my pizza craving when I’m not in the big city.  The internet did not disappoint.  I found a recipe on CopyKat Recipes.  The method was a little weird, but the pizza tasted good.  Then, a few weeks later I found a perogy pizza recipe on one of my favorite blogs, How Sweet It Is, with a less weird method.  I combined the two recipes to create a pretty good substitute for when I’m craving me some Boston Pizza.

Spicy Perogy Pizza
(adapted from CopyKat Recipes and How Sweet It Is)
 
Your favorite pizza dough recipe (I like to use a whole wheat dough)
2 lbs potatoes, peeled and chopped
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
5 tbsp sour cream + more for dolloping
8 pieces of bacon
Cheese, grated
3 green onions, sliced
 
Prepare your pizza dough as directed and press into pizza pan or stone.  Preheat oven to whatever temperature recommended in your pizza dough recipe (probs 375 – 400°).  While pizza dough is rising and oven preheating, boil potatoes until tender (about 30 minutes).  Drain potatoes.  Add cayenne, garlic and onion powders and mash together.  Pre-bake the pizza crust for 10-15 minutes.  Top with sour cream, then spread mashed potatoes on top.  Add cheese and bacon.  Bake for another 25-30 minutes.  Remove from oven and top with green onions.  Serve each piece with a spoonful of sour cream.
 

 Now, I just need to get me a fishbowl so I can put a cocktail in it.  Happy Friday!

 

2 responses to “Spicy Perogy Pizza

  1. I’ve been waiting to use up a BP gift certificat from x-mas. Now I know just what to do with it!

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Posts of 2012 | A Freckle in Time·

Leave a Reply

