Sweet Potato Gnocchi

I made this recipe before I left for vacation.

I’d wanted to try making gnocchi for a while…. ever since I figured out what the heck it was.

Then I saw a recipe for gnocchi in my Food Network magazine and I thought, “Hey, why not use sweet potatoes instead?”

So I did.

I don’t know if sweet potatoes are moister than russet potatoes, or if it’s because I didn’t bake them on top of salt, or what, but I ended up needing to use almost twice as much flour as the original recipe called for. 

They ended up tasting good, so I guess I did it right. 

Warning: These are the MESSIEST thing I have ever made.  I had sweet potatoes and flour everywhere!  All over my hands… all over the counter… on the floor.  It’s a good thing I bought myself an apron while I was in Hawaii.  Perhaps that will save me from getting flour all over me in future.  I wish I’d been wearing it the day I made these.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Brown Butter and Sage
(adapted from Food Network with inspiration from How Sweet It Is)
 
Gnocchi:
2 sweet potatoes (about 2 lbs)
2&1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 egg, beaten
 
Sauce:
6 tbsp butter
1 shallot, sliced
1 tsp red pepper flakes
5 sage leaves, sliced
1/4 cup parmesan cheese + more for topping
 
Preheat oven to 375º.  Prick sweet potatoes all over with a fork so they won’t explode in your oven.  Place on rimmed baking sheet and bake until tender.  I’d probably say it takes about 1 hour to 1hour and 15mins.  Remove from oven and let cool until you’re able to handle them.
 
Cut potatoes in half lengthwise and scoop out flesh, discard skins.  Original recipe suggested using a potato ricer, but I didn’t have one, so I mashed them on my cutting board.  I’d say that is fine, but make sure you mash them really well.  I noticed afterwards there were still a few chunks in mine (see picture above).  Cool for 3-4 minutes.
 
Spread out potatoes and pour egg over top.  Add 1 cup of flour and knead until a smooth dough forms, adding another 1/2 cup of flour at a time as needed.  When the dough is done, you should be able to press your finger in the dough and it come out clean.  Cover dough with a kitchen towel and let rest 10 minutes.
 
Form gnocchi.  Divide dough into at least six pieces and roll into snakes, about 1/2″ in diameter on a lightly floured surface.  I found it easier to divide each of my six pieces in half and work with smaller pieces.  Cut the snakes into 1/2 to 1″ pieces and place on a parchment lined baking sheet.
 
Bring a large pot of water to boil.
 
While you’re waiting for the water to boil, brown the butter.  Melt butter and shallot in a large skillet over medium heat.  Watch closely while stirring.  You don’t want it to burn!  It took a little longer than I expected and kinda foamed at first, then the foam wore off and then it bubbled and kinda foamed again.  I don’t know if this is how it always works or not.  Watch for it to turn brown and smell nutty.  Once this happens, remove from heat.
 
Add gnocchi to boiling water.  Once they float to surface, let them cook about 30 seconds (do a taste test to make sure it’s done) then remove from water with slotted spoon.  I ended up having to do mine in three batches because I didn’t use a large enough pot, so I piled mine on a plate until all were done.
 
Once gnocchi is done, turn heat back on skillet until butter starts to bubble again.  Add sage.  Then add gnocchi.  Toss to coat.  Add red pepper flakes and a tbsp of starchy cooking water.  Toss again.  Remove from heat and add cheese.  Serve with an extra sprinkling of cheese.  Mo’ cheese = Mo’ better.
 
Tip:  Freeze your leftover sage for future use.  Wash and dry herb, spread in a single layer and put in freezer.  I usually lay mine out on a small plate or the baking tray from my toaster oven and stick the whole shebang in a large Ziploc then put it in the freezer.  Once it’s frozen, I remove the plate for easier storage, and label the bag with the herb and date.
 

FYI:  These gnocchi are very rich… but delicious!  I don’t recommend eating half a bag of mini Easter Reese’s Peanut Butter cups first.  Not that I would know that from experience or anything.

I served my gnocchi with sautéed kale, because I love the combination of sweet potatoes and kale!  Yummy!

2 responses to “Sweet Potato Gnocchi

  1. Pingback: Food Saving in Portions « Eclectic Edibles.·

  2. Pingback: Gnocchi with Pesto, Tomatoes, and Fresh Mozzarella | A Freckle in Time·

Leave a Reply

