Mocha Coconut Iced Coffee, Vitamix style

Michael and I hardly ever agree on what to watch on TV.  Acceptable programming includes Amazing Race, Big Bang Theory, Destination Truth, and infomercials or the Shopping Channel.

Cleaning supplies or small kitchen appliances are our favorites.

I mean, it all looks so amazing!  The H2O mop cleans and sanitizes with the power of steam without harsh chemicals!  The Magic Bullet will make smoothies in just six seconds!  The Ninja has a unique blade system that evenly chops onions!  Wolfgang Puck’s Versa Cooker can do just about everything!

Until last Monday, I had only ever purchased one item from TV and that was my Kitchen Aid standmixer.  When purchased, it was the daily “Showstopper” and it was half price, had free shipping (and that was during the postal strike so it was sent via Purolator and came super quickly), and came with a bonus ice cream maker attachment.  I love my Kitchen Aid, just as the Shopping Channel said I would!  I actually realized how much I love it when I was at my parents a few weekends ago and had to make buttercream frosting without it.

Anyways, so last weekend Michael showed up at my place for supper (I made How Sweet’s Crispy Margarita Chicken Tacos with Strawberry Avocado Salsa and Strawberry Coconut Margaritas - delish! Highly recommend) and he told me about the Vitamix he’d seen on TSC that morning while at the gym.  Luckily, it was featured again that evening and I got to see it.

It looked amazing!  Apparently it will replace ten kitchen appliances.  It makes the smoothest smoothies ever from whole fruits – you can through the apple in, stems, core, seeds and all, and it will be broken down so you’d never know.  It crushes ice, chops onions, makes salsa, makes frozen yogurt from frozen berries and yogurt, makes pesto and dressings, and even makes hot soup!  Yes, hot soup!  The blades spin so fast that it generates heat and will produce hot steaming soup!  And the best part is that it cleans itself.  All you have to do is put some hot water and a few drops of soap in and turn it on and it whizzes the water around so fast it goes up the sides and cleans the whole blender jar and lid.

And “the leading coffee house” (which I’m pretty sure means Starbucks), and Booster juice supposedly use the Vitamix.  I’m also pretty sure I’ve seen it at Orange Julius, and even the little coffee and ice cream shop at the Royal Lahaina in Maui used it to make my delicious papaya strawberry smoothie.

Unfortunately, this amazing-ness will cost you.  Even though it was $100 off, it was still and exorbitant amount to spend on a blender.  I hmm’ed and ha’ed over if I should splurge and order it.  I was in the market for a new food processor after all, because I’d broken my old one.  And I do make a smoothie every single morning for breakfast and I hate having to wash the blender out every day.  The Vitamix would solve both of these problems!

Michael, ever the wise one, suggested I think about it.  The next morning, I turned on the TV as I was eating my breakfast, and there it was – the Vitamix in all her glory.  I took this as a sign that I was meant to own one and went online and ordered it.  As long as I wouldn’t go into debt to own one, why shouldn’t I have a Vitamix?

Then steeled myself to wait the painful seven to ten business days for the Vitamix to arrive at my doorstep – or lobby since I live in an apartment building.

On day five the most glorious thing happened.  Friday I came home from work and opened my mail box and there was a slip from Canada Post notifying me of an attempted parcel delivery!  On our way out to supper, Michael and I picked up the Vitamix and proceeded to peruse the bonus recipe book and think about all the wonderful things we could make.  Then we went home and made margaritas.  Yum!

So far I will say this about it:

  1. It lives up to the easy to clean claim.  And I had plenty of time to test this out because we used the Vitamix a lot this weekend and had to clean it lots too.
  2. It does make really smooth smoothies.  In my old blender (the second one I’ve owned because my very first one died), there would always be a few chunks at the bottom of my smoothie, and if it was a strawberry one, there’d be a ton of seeds.  Not so with the Vitamix!  No chunks and no gross seed pile on the bottom!

I didn’t get a chance to test the soup claim out yet. Hopefully I will sometime this week.

 Mocha Coconut Iced Coffee, Vitamix Style
(ever so slightly adapted from the ‘Recipes to Inspire’ Vitamix Cookbook)
 
3/4 cup coffee, cooled
1 cup skim milk
1/4 cup chocolate syrup
1 1/2 tbsp cream of coconut
2 tbsp sweetened shredded coconut
2 cups ice
 
Put all ingredients in blender and blend on high until desired consistency.  Garnish with additional chocolate syrup and coconut if desired.
 

** The views expressed in this post are strictly my own.  I was not paid or sponsored by the makers of Vitamix in any way.

4 responses to “Mocha Coconut Iced Coffee, Vitamix style

  1. Pingback: Pineapple Mango Sunshine Smoothie « A Freckle in Time·

  2. Pingback: Toasted Coconut Ice Cream « A Freckle in Time·

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Posts of 2012 | A Freckle in Time·

Leave a Reply

