Fresh Strawberry-Limeade

I’ve never really considered myself as up-to-date on the latest trends.  Usually when some new fad comes out, I think it’s hideous and wouldn’t be caught wearing it.

But then somehow, once it’s been around for a while, it grows on me, and I find myself wanting to be a part of the trend.

Case in point – brightly colored pants.

In the spring, I couldn’t stand them.  Fast forward to last weekend when I decided I wanted a pair of coral cropped pants.

After scouring three malls, I found the perfect pair!  And for $20 no less.

So I bought a pair in teal too.

Michael thinks they’re hideous.  I’m not sure if he’ll be seen with me in public if I’m wearing them.

But what does he know?  Now I am trendy and young and hip and cool.

I plan on wearing them everywhere all summer.

He better get used to it.

Anyways, so now that I am a cool kid, perhaps I will find some summer BBQs or pool parties where the other cool kids are at to go to.  And if I was going to such an event, I would likely bring something to drink, such as this delicious strawberry-limeade.

Now, I made the PG version, as I enjoyed mine in the afternoon sun on my deck while reading Matched, but the possibilities for hooch-ing this up for after dark are endless!

You could add rum, vodka, or tequilla or swap out some of the plain old boring water for club soda or sparkling water.  I bet the strawberry mixture would even be delicious mixed with some sort of sparkling wine (like prosecco) and leaving out the water completely.

It’s Friday.  Find the cool kids and drink some of this.

Fresh Strawberry Limeade
(adapted from Chatelaine)
Serves 2, easily multiplied
 
1 cup strawberries, quartered
6 tbsp sugar
Zest of 1 lime
1 1/2 cups water, divided
Juice of two limes
Ice
 
Put strawberries, sugar, zest, 1/2 cup water into blend and puree until smooth.  Pour mixture through fine mesh sieve into a pitcher.  Add remaining 1 cup water.  Stir.
 
Pour into glasses filled with ice.  Garnish with lime slices if desired.  Best if drank the day it’s made.
 
9 responses to “Fresh Strawberry-Limeade

  1. Looks fantastic! And I just bought a huge bunch of strawberries, too. Only problem – it’s winter, so it’s way too cold to drink with ice…. Looks like I’ll have to wait :(

  2. Pingback: Toasted Coconut Ice Cream « A Freckle in Time·

  3. Pingback: Drunken Bee Limeade « Romancing the Bee·

  4. Pingback: Randomness Vol. II | A Freckle in Time·

Leave a Reply

