Coconut Lime Chicken Tacos With Mango Strawberry Salsamole

Along with coconut, pina coladas, avocados, the beach, and sunsets, tacos are something that I think I need more of in my life.

And that is why I am sharing this recipe with you folks today.

It combines many of my favorite summery flavours: coconut, lime, strawberry, and mango.  Oh and avocados!

I used to be strongly opposed to the whole fruit as part of my entrée.  That was until I had Jessica’s tacos with strawberry avocado salsa (which you simply must try!).  Then I realized it was a good idea and ate those tacos two nights in a row and put strawberries in my salad for the rest of the week.

I know it’s getting a bit hot for the oven.  My apartment building has the worst air circulation ever!  It was 28 degrees in here yesterday and I thought I was going to burst into flames.  Thankfully, today is much cooler and I’m actually getting a breeze in my window.  I made these a couple of weeks ago before the heat wave struck.  But you could totally marinate the chicken breast whole instead of in strips, and grill it on the BBQ and then slice to be used in tacos.

Make these.  You’ll be glad you did.

Coconut Lime Chicken Tacos with Mango Strawberry Salsamole 
(inspiration from How Sweet It Is)
 
4 chicken breasts, cut into strips lengthwise
8 whole wheat/multigrain tortillas
Monterary jack cheese, shredded
Cilantro
 
Marinade:
(adapted from Coconut Lime Chicken)
 
2 cloves garlic, grated
1/2 cup green onion, chopped (I used a spring onion I got at the market)
1/2 cup cilantro
1/8 tsp cayenne
2 tbsp honey
1/2 cup coconut milk
Juice and zest of one lime
 
Mango Strawberry Salsamole:
(adapted from Mango Salsa from Better Homes and Gardens Special Interest Publications Ultimate Mexican 2011 ed.)
 
1 small red pepper, chopped
1 mango, chopped
1 spring onion or 3-4 green onions, chopped
1 jalepeno, chopped finely
4 large strawberries, chopped
1 avocado, diced
Juice of one lime
 
Put all marinade ingredients in bowl of food processor or blender.  Process until smooth.  Pour into a Ziploc bag and add chicken strips.  Give it a massage to coat all chicken pieces.  Refrigerate for 2 hours or so.
 
Preheat oven to 450º.  Line a baking sheet with foil and place wire cooling rack on top.  Put the chicken strips on the rack and bake for 20 minutes.  Flip strips.  Bake another 10-15 minutes until chicken is cooked through.
 
While chicken is baking, make the salsamole by combining salsamole ingredients in a bowl and stirring.
 
Heat a frying pan or grill pan over medium heat.  Warm tortillas by placing in the hot pan for about 30 seconds per side or until it starts to brown.
 
Build tacos by placing 2-3 chicken strips on tortilla.  Top with cheese, salsamole, and cilantro.  Fold in half and enjoy!
 

 I could go for one of these right now.

 

One response to “Coconut Lime Chicken Tacos With Mango Strawberry Salsamole

  1. Pingback: Margarita Chicken Burgers With Strawberry Mango Tequila Salsa | A Freckle in Time·

Leave a Reply

