Miami Vice Cupcakes

It’s my birthday!

Let’s celebrate with cupcakes!

If I had to pick my FAVORITE flavour of cupcake, and I’d only be able to eat that kind for the rest of my life, these would be it.  As much as I love the Irish car bomb cupcakes and the pina colada cupcakes, I’d rather eat these cupcakes.

And while I actually made these cupcakes a couple of weeks ago as a farewell to one of my coworkers who was leaving to go back to school, if I’d had time to make myself birthday cupcakes and wasn’t making Michael birthday cupcakes tomorrow, I’d have made another batch of these for myself.

Hands down best buttercream frosting ever!

I think one of the reasons I love these so much is because it was my favorite drink at the first Carribbean resort I stayed at.

I’d never even heard of a Miami Vice before, but I saw some people on my grad trip drinking them, and once I found out they were like a strawberry pina colada, I knew I had to try them.

Strawberry, pineapple, and coconut flavours?  You know I’m in!

When I found this recipe in the Betty Crocker Big Book of Cupcakes, I was reminded of that delicious cocktail and it sealed the deal and convinced me to buy the book.  Did I need another cupcake cookbook?  No.  But I needed these cupcakes.

And they didn’t disappoint.

Miami Vice Cupcakes

(Slightly adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything, as found in Betty Crocker Big Book of Cupcakes)

Makes 12 cupcakes

3/4 cups strawberries, hulled and cut in half (I’ve used both thawed frozen and fresh, either work)

1/4 cup lite coconut milk

3/4 tsp coconut extract

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup minus 2 tbsp flour

1 tsp baking powder

6 tbsp butter, softened

1/2 cup + 2 tbsp sugar

1 egg

2 tbsp crushed pineapple, from a can, drained

Preheat oven to 350.  Prepare cupcake tin with cupcake liners.

Blend berries in a blender until smooth.  The puree should measure 1/2 cup.  If not, puree more berries.  Pour 1/3 of the puree into a small bowl and add coconut milk, coconut extract, and vanilla.  Stir.  Save the rest of the puree for later.

In a small bowl, combine dry ingredients: flour and baking powder.

In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar together with an electric mixer for two minutes until light and fluffy.  Add the egg and beat well.  Then add a third of the flour mixture alternating with half of the berry mixture, mixing on low speed in between additions until just blended.  Once finished, stir in pineapple.

Scoop batter into prepared tin.  Bake 18-22 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

Frost with Miami Vice Frosting.

Miami Vice Frosting

1/3 cup butter, softened

1/3 cup shortening

4 tbsp lite coconut milk

2 tbsp reserved strawberry puree

1 tsp coconut extract

1 tbsp pineapple juice

1 tsp vanilla

4 cups icing sugar

Beat together butter and shortening with an electric or stand mixer.  Add all other ingredients except sugar and mix to combine.  Add the sugar in two additions, mixing to combine.  Beat until light and fluffy.

You need these in your life!  I promise you won’t regret making them!

2 responses to “Miami Vice Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Jumbo-Sized Spanakopitas | A Freckle in Time·

  2. Pingback: 2012 Wrap-Up | A Freckle in Time·

Leave a Reply

