Bruschetta Chicken

I may have mentioned once or twice that I’m leaving for a sunny vacation at the end of the month.  And while I don’t believe in diets (I’m more of be active and eat all things in moderation kind of gal), my boyfriend takes the all-or-nothing approach.  So when he’s eating bad he goes all out.  Case in point, a couple of weekends ago…  That Saturday he consumed ribs, Cadbury Cream Egg pastries, a tub of Wal-Mart candy, a bag of Lays Jalepeno chips, and beer.  Did I mention that was all in one day?

Then he was whining because he felt sick.  No kidding!

Sunday morning he woke up, remembering how ill he felt the night before and threw out the remains of the candy and the chips.

Apparently that was a moment of weakness.  Later on in the afternoon he wanted a treat so he dug the chips and candy out of the garbage and ate them!!  Garbage chips and candy!  Gross!!  I was reminded of the time Miranda ate the chocolate cake out of the garbage on Sex and the City.

But now it’s crunch time for him with vacation coming up in less than a month.  So we’re in the nothing phase.  No restaurants, no booze, no treats.

Not a whole lot of fun for me.  Why can’t we go out to a non-greasy restaurant like normal adults?  But why would he order lemon chicken when he could eat a burger or ribs??  Apparently, that would be a waste.

So this is how I found myself having to make supper last Saturday evening after working a nine hour shift where my break consisted of running to the washroom and sitting down long enough to have two bites of my leftover chicken and rice (stay tuned for that recipe… it’s fab!).

Ya, making supper was the last thing I wanted to do.

I decided on bruschetta chicken and salad as that is allowed on the “nothing eating plan” as I’ll call it.

And I forgot to take the chicken out of the freezer the night before!! Gah! I’ll never learn.

Back in pharmacy school the grad class used to sell cookbooks of recipes the students contributed as a fundraiser.  I adapted my bruschetta topping for the chicken from Lori Graham’s Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil recipe in the Dalhousie College of Pharmacy Grad Class 2007 cookbook.  I hope Lori doesn’t mind.

Bruschetta Chicken
(adapted from Lori Graham)
serves 2
 
3 plum tomatoes
1 clove garlic, grated
1 tbsp olive oil
3 basil leaves
Pepper
2 chicken breasts
Mozzarella cheese (optional)
 
Preheat oven to 375°.  Seed and dice tomatoes.  Put tomatoes, olive oil, garlic, and pepper (and salt if you cook with salt) into a bowl.  Finely chop basil.  I find it helps to stack the leaves on top of each other and roll into a little log and then chop.  Add basil to tomato mixture and combine.
Place chicken in a baking dish and top with tomato mixture.  Bake in oven for 30-45 minutes or until cooked through.  May take longer if still slightly frozen.  Top with cheese (if using) for the last 5 minutes or so, until melted.
 
 
2 thoughts on “Bruschetta Chicken

Leave a Reply

