Irish Car Bomb Brownies

I used to have a social life.  During that time, I used to go to the bar. 

One night, after a round of trivia at a campus bar, one of the guys ordered Irish Car Bombs.  I had never heard of such a thing, and to me, they looked gross.

How were you supposed to drink it?  It looked complicated with the shot inside the beer.  Fast, that’s how you drink it.  You chug it.

I think that was also the same night one of my favorite flip flops fell apart (they were black and sparkly and from Wal-Mart) and I somehow fixed it with a bobby pin so that I could go dancing.  I hadn’t thought about those flip flops in a while…  Sigh.  They were awesome.

Anyways, back to the Irish Car Bombs.

One day I came across these brownies on Pinterest and thought they would be awesome for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cuz, you see, even though I am under 30, I might as well be a 100 year old lady as I don’t really do the bar scene anymore.  There is no bar going or green beer in my St. Patty’s day forecast.

I celebrate with cupcakes.

I promise you, even though the drink form may be weird, these are fabulous!  (To be fair, I’ve never actually had the drink)  They are the best chocolate cupcake recipe I have ever made!  And ganache is my new best friend!  I want to make a bowlful of it and eat it with a spoon.

And you get to have people give you weird looks at the liquor store when you buy one can of beer and one shot of whiskey, and they say things to you like, “Drinking big tonight” as they buy their case of beer with the ten bonus airmiles.  True story.

Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes
(slightly adapted from  browneyedbaker who adapted it from Smitten Kitchen)
Makes 12 cupcakes
 
Cupcakes:
1/2 cup stout beer (I couldn’t get one can of Guiness, so I used Kilkenny)
1/2 cup margarine
6 tbsp cocoa powder
1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
3/4 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1/3 cup sour cream
 
Ganache:
4 squares bittersweet chocolate
1/3 cup heavy cream
1 tbsp butter
1 tsp whiskey
 
Frosting:
2/3 cup butter, room temp
1/3 cup shortening
2 1/2 cups icing sugar
3 tbsp Bailey’s Irish Cream
 
Preheat oven to 350º.  Prepare cupcake pan with liners.
Bring beer and margarine to a simmer in a saucepan over medium heat.  Add cocoa and whisk until smooth and cool slightly.
Combine flour, sugar, and baking soda in a bowl.  Beat eggs and sour cream with a hand mixer at medium speed in a large bowl until combined.  Add flour mixture and beat at low speed until combined.
Use and ice cream scoop to pour batter into prepared cupcake pan.  Bake until toothpick inserted in cucpakes comes out clean, about 17-18 minutes.  Cool on wire rack.
 
While cucpakes are baking, make ganache.  Chop chocolate and place in bowl.  Bring cream to simmer and pour it over chocolate.  Let it sit for about a minute then stir from the center out using a rubber spatula until smooth and chocolate is melted.
Add butter (works best if butter is room temp) and whiskey and stir.  Cool until thick, but still pipeable.
 
Once cupcakes are cool, cut the center out of them using a large piping tip.  Try to cut out 2/3 of the way down.  (You can eat the centers).  Put ganache in a large Ziploc bag, cut the corner off, and fill the cupcake holes.
 
Make frosting.  Whip butter and shortening in stand mixer fitted with whip attachement at medium-high speed for about 5 minutes, stopping to scrape bowl occasionally.  Reduce speed to medium-low and add icing sugar gradually, mix until combined with butter/shortening.  Add Bailley’s and up speed to medium-high and whip for 2-3 minutes until light and fluffy.  Pipe or spread icing on cupcakes.
 

Don’t let the thought of having to cut holes in the center of the cupcakes scare you.  I always thought it would be super hard, but it’s way easier than you think. 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

 
 
5 thoughts on “Irish Car Bomb Brownies

  1. Jess says:

    Karen these look delicious!! You’re my baking hero, I definitely need to get back to the kitchen, I may just have to try these out.

  2. Jess says:

    Ok, so here’s my follow-up: after giving into temptation, I went out and bought the ingredients I was missing to make these. I have to say it’s the first time that I make ganache and a heck of a long time since I’ve made icing from scratch. Conclusion: most amazing cupcakes ever!! The sour cream really makes the cupcake dense, making the ganache & icing wrapped in awesomeness. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

Leave a Reply

