Spicy Bacon Burger

I hate touching raw meat.  Therefore, I rarely make my own burgers.  If I’m going to have one, I buy the pre-made frozen ones.  But on the night I made these I wanted something different for supper as I’d been eating pasta forever it felt like (thanks to the million serving size Greek pasta with the extra sugar).  And I’d recently received the Tex-Mex issue of the Rachel Ray magazine in the mail and I thought her burger of the month looked good.  Plus, my boyfriend was visiting and he’s a burger with bacon fan.  Plus he gets kind of tired when all I cook is chicken.

So I got in there with my hands and mixed the beef and formed the patties.  And it was gross and messy and I probably washed my hands a million times afterwards.  I grilled them up and put bacon on them.  And cheese sauce.  And nachos.

Nachos?  Yes, nachos.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about putting something crunchy on my burger, but it turned out great!  They softened slightly from the cheese sauce, but still had some crunch and gave the burger some good texture.

These burgers were good!  Nice and spicy thanks to the chipotles and jalapeno on top.  I’d never bought jalapenos in a jar before.

I was lazy and served these with sweet potato fries from the freezer.  If you’re feeling ambitious, you could slice up some sweet potatoes, slather them with olive oil and make your own.

Tex-Mex Bacon Cheeseburgers
(slightly adapted from the Rachael Ray Everyday magazine)
 
Burgers:
8 slices of bacon (4 whole, 4 finely chopped)
ground beef
3-4 tbsp grated onion
3 cloves garlic, grated
1-2 tbsp pureed canned chipotles (I couldn’t find chipotles in adobo sauce, but the ones I used were in some sort of sauce)
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
pepper
 
Queso Sauce:
3 tbsp butter or margarine
2 tbsp flour (I used whole wheat because that’s what I pulled out of the cupboard first)
1 cup milk
1 1/2 cups cheese
1 14 0z can diced tomatoes, drained (I used the Alymer Accents Spicy Pepper kind, but I think their Chilli kind would be a good choice too)
 
Rolls and Toppings:
4 whole wheat thin buns, toasted
nachos
chopped tomato, cilantro, and pickled jalapeno
 
Line a baking sheet with foil and position a baking rack on top.  Lay the whole pieces of bacon on top and bake at 375° until crisp (about 15 minutes)
 
Heat a grill pan over medium heat.  Combine burger ingredients and shape into four patties making them thinner in the middle.  Grill the burgers for 10 minutes per side for well done (recipe says 5 minutes per side for medium)
 
Make the cheese sauce by melting butter in a saucepan over medium heat and then whisking in the flour.  Cook for about a minute.  Be careful not to burn!  Whisk in the milk.  Stir in cheese and then the tomatoes once melted.
 
Assemble burgers by putting the burgers on the bun.  Top with queso sauce, 1 strip of bacon (broken in half and criss-crossed), nachos, remaining toppings as desired, and bun top.
 
5 thoughts on “Spicy Bacon Burger

  1. Randi says:

    My husband and I also hate touching meat… Our solution was to buy a big box of rubber gloves and we just grab a pair of those if meat is involved. (However I must admit I still scrub my hands quite a bit after I take them off)

Leave a Reply

