Homemade Cadbury Cream Eggs

When I was little, my two favorite Easter treats were white chocolate bunnies and Cadbury Cream Eggs.

The white chocolate bunnies were so special because I only ever had white chocolate at Easter.  Then one year I had two white chocolate bunnies, and it was white chocolate overload and I haven’t felt the same way about white chocolate since.

But the cream egg… seems that no matter how many I eat a season, I never get sick of them.

Last year, I saw the Cookbook Queen make a homemade version.  I was nervous to try making them myself and figured why go to the effort of making them just for myself.

Now I have Pinterest and a blog.

I pin many things (cream egg recipes included) and hope that one day I will try them.  I’m making an effort to actually do the things I pin.  So far, I’ve made once recipe (Irish Car Bomb cupcakes) and have turned “Fab Ab February” into “Fab Ab March”… which was going well for the first three weeks, but the last week is getting ridiculously hard.

And the blog inspires me to try new things so I can share them with you, my gentle readers.  I’m not just making them for myself now… I’m making them for you too!

And the third reason that gave me the courage to try making my own cream eggs is that they are my boyfriend’s favorite Easter treat.

So I have made them.  And the truth is, it’s not hard!  And not time consuming.  There’s just a lot of waiting for things to chill in the fridge or freezer.  But you can do other stuff while you’re waiting for that.  Like lick the bowl clean or write a blog post. do the dishes.

Homemade Cadbury Cream Eggs
(from a combination of Confessions of a Cookbook Queen and instructables.com)
 
1/2 cup light corn syrup
1/4 cup butter, softened
3 cups icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla
Yellow food coloring
1 bag (300g) milk chocolate chips
2 tsp shortening
 
Put corn syrup, butter, and vanilla in the bowl of a stand mixer.  Cream together at low speed until smooth.  Slowly add the sugar and increase speed to medium low until well mixed.
 
Separate about a third of the mixture into a different bowl so you can dye it yellow with the food coloring.  Put both mixtures into the fridge to chill so it’s easier to work with.
 
After 30 minutes, remove the yellow mixture from the fridge and roll into balls for the “yolks.”  Once you’ve rolled the balls, place on a wax paper lined baking sheet (or pizza pan, cuz your baking sheet is dirty).  Try to work quickly, as it gets messier as the mixture warms up.  I got 12 yolks from my batch.  Put in freezer to set up again for 20-30 minutes.  Take out of freezer and white mixture out of fridge.  Cover the yolks with the white mixture and roll into an egg shape and place on wax paper lined baking sheet.  Again, try to work quickly.  Freeze for 30 minutes.
 
Melt chocolate chips and shortening in the microwave at 10 second intervals, stirring in between.  Take eggs out of the freezer and dip in chocolate, one at a time.  Place on wax paper lined baking sheet and refrigerate until set.
 
I’d store them in the fridge, as they tend to get melty if left out at room temp.  You can take them out shortly before serving if you want the centers to be runnier.
 

I’m off to (hopefully) sunny Hawaii for two weeks, so unfortunately, no more posts til I get back.  Don’t miss me too much!

 
 
 
8 thoughts on “Homemade Cadbury Cream Eggs

  1. Natasha says:

    I made these easter weekend and Mike LOVED them! It made many more than I had anticipated, so Mike took the extras to work! Now i have requests to make them again!
    Yet, i must say, I wasn’t a fan of the steps and the rolling…..

    • I guess how many eggs you get depends how big you make them. My yolks were a bit on the large size. And the rolling part can get kind of sticky.
      Thanks for sharing! I’m so happy when people try the recipes I post! Glad they were a hit.

Leave a Reply

