If You Like Pina Colada (Cupcakes)

My sister had a birthday recently.  Not just any birthday… it was the big THREE – OH.

 

 

And saying goodbye to your twenties requires cupcakes.

 

 

She requested pina colada flavored ones.  Well, actually she requested the ones I made that time that I put the cherries on.  Which were the Grin and Bake It pina colada cupcakes with regular buttercream (see link below).  Since then, I’ve found this recipe for pina colada cupcakes and doctored up the buttercream.

These are WAY better.

 

 

Let’s just say I piped the left over frosting right from the bag into my mouth.

And the flavor combo plays right into my post-vacation obsession with things that remind me of Hawaii – like pineapple and coconut.

 

 

I don’t know what thirty will feel like (I’ll be there soon enough), but like my dad says, you’re only as old as you feel.  He says he feels like he’s twenty-five.  I still feel like I’m twenty-three.  That was a good year.  I think I’ll stay there.

So HAPPY THIRTIETH BIG SISTER!  I’m sorry we forgot to sing you “Happy Birthday.”

 

 
Pina Colada Buttercream Frosting
(adapted from Grin and Bake It)
 
1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
6 tbsp milk
1 tsp coconut extract
1/2 tsp rum extract
1 tsp pineapple juice
6 cups icing sugar
 
Beat shortening and butter in stand mixer.  Add milk, extracts, and juice and beat until smooth (about 2-3 minutes).  Add icing sugar in stages, about 1 cup at a time until incorporated.  Once all sugar is added, beat until fluffy.  Add food coloring if you want.
 
Pina Colada Cupcakes
makes 24 cupcakes
(slightly adapted from Betty Crocker’s Big Book of Cupcakes)
 
2 1/2 cups flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 cup margarine, softened
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp coconut extract
1 tsp rum extract
1 14 oz. can crushed pineapple in juice
1/4 cup milk
 
Preheat oven to 350º.  Prepare cupcake pan with liners.
 
Mix flour and baking powder in bowl and set aside.
 
Beat butter with electric mixer at medium speed for about 30 seconds.  Add sugar about 1/4 of a cup at a time, beating in between additions.  Once all added, beat another 2 minutes.  Add eggs, one at a time, mixing after each one.  Add extracts and mix. 
 
Drain pineapple, saving the juice.  Mix the milk with about 60ml (2 oz) of the juice.
 
Add flour mixture in thirds alternating with half of the milk/juice mixture, mixing at low speed until combined.  Stir in pineapple.
 
Scoop batter into prepared pan.  I use an ice cream scoop.
 
Bake about 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Cool in pan about five minutes and then cool on rack. 
 
Make frosting while cupcakes cool. 
 
When cool, frost cupcakes with spatula or by piping.  I garnished mine with cherries, inspired by Grin and Bake It.
 
 

 

Yum yum yummy in my tummy!

 
 
 
9 thoughts on “If You Like Pina Colada (Cupcakes)

  1. budziak says:

    I’m definitely going to have to make these. I just posted a red velvet cupcake recipe today too! LOL Thanks for yours!!!

  2. Sara says:

    Karen, I’m not a big cake fan but I LOVE these cupcakes! Thanks for making them as a special request! I had those last two for breakfast the next morning.

Leave a Reply

