Staycation Weekend – A Trip To The Citadel and Halifax Waterfront

This past weekend was the Victoria Day long weekend for us Canadians, which pretty much signals the beginning of summer.  The weather couldn’t have been better!  Lots of sun and temperatures in the 20’s!

I don’t know about you, but I always feel a whole lot better when the sun is shining.  I’m happier and more optimistic, and everything feels right in the world.

Unfortunately, I felt crappy on Monday, so I pretty much laid on the couch all day, watching the Income Property marathon on HGTV, and Michael made me food.  A bit of a waste, but we made the most of Saturday and Sunday.

In an attempt to expand our horizons beyond just going to the mall on Saturdays, Michael and I made a trip to downtown Halifax and checked out the Citadel and the waterfront.

Why did I not take more advantage of the waterfront when I lived in Halifax as a University student?  Oh ya, it was becasue I spent my Saturday afternoons on the couch recovering from the night before.  If only I knew then what I know now.

Anyway, we started our afternoon off with a Cows ice cream. Even though Cows may be a Halifax waterfront landmark, I will always believe that Cows’ true home is Prince Edward Island.  The Cows of my childhood was the one at the Cavendish Boardwalk, and I had more Cows t-shirts than…. well I can’t think of anything good to compare it to.. let’s just say that I had a lot.  I was pleasantly amused when the girl scooping my Moo Henry ice cream was wearing a Sheldon inspired shirt that said “Cowzinga.”

After getting our ice cream we walked up the hilly streets of Halifax to get to Citadel Hill.  Not only is the Citadel home to the iconic clock tower, but it is also the site of a former British fort that defended the Halifax Harbour.  You can go for tours in it now and they have people dressed up in period costumes who tell you about life in the fort back in the day.  I got to see a shooting demonstration, and learned that the soldiers would be locked in their barracks overnight so as to prevent desertion, which was a big problem because the soldiers would enlist, get their signing bonus, stay a week, and then leave and sign up with another regiment under a different name to get the signing bonus again.

In my opinion, it was a pretty good time of year to go.  The weather was perfect, warm but not stifling hot, and there weren’t that many people around so it wasn’t crowded at all.

After the Citadel, we went back down to the waterfront and found nice outdoor patio at Hart and Thistle, right on the water, to have supper and a glass of wine.  Then we had Beaver tails… probably not the smartest move, as we were very gluttonous, but they were delicious!

And in true vacation syle, I bought earrings (my favorite souvenir!) from a guy’s stand on the waterfront.

I also discovered that Starbucks here has both mocha coconut and coconut cream frappucinos (if you ask for it)!  Now, for a limited time, I can relive my Hawaii glory days.

Sunday we just hung out on Michael’s balcony.  I finally finished reading The Chronicles of Narnia and we BBQ-ed guacamole burgers.

How did you (Canadians) spend your long weekend?

5 thoughts on “Staycation Weekend – A Trip To The Citadel and Halifax Waterfront

Leave a Reply

