Toasted Coconut Ice Cream

Happy Monday!  Did you folks have a nice weekend?  I spent my weekend in the city, and in true Halifax style, it was rainy, foggy, and cold.  Fingers crossed for good weather for this upcoming long weekend.

The brightly colored pants must have worked, because in a truly unusual turn of events, I was social four nights in a row!  And out past 10 o’ clock on three of them.  Perhaps I’m not a ninety year old woman after all?

Thursday night I saw a new friend off as she said farewell to Nova Scotia and begins the next chapter of her life.  Friday night I had a dinner and movie date with my friend Melissa (stay tuned for more on that later).  Saturday night Michael and I had dinner with a friend from pharmacy school and his fiance, who were visiting from Moncton.  And on Sunday, my sister and brother in-law stopped by on their way through town and we had supper at the new Thai restaurant.  First time I ever ordered curry somewhere.  I feel so worldly.

It was really nice to catch up with old friends.  It’s nice to be around people who know where you’ve come from and have shared experiences with you.  Staying connected with people is something that I should make more of an effort at.

Ice cream is a good thing to connect to people with.  Who doesn’t like ice cream?  And why not make it coconut ice cream?

In case you missed it the first million times I mentioned it, I LOVE COCONUT!

This is a semi-new obsession.  It was really Hawaii that pushed my “like” of coconut over the edge into full blown “need-to-incorporate-coconut-into-everything-I-do” mode.

And I also love my Shopping Channel purchased KitchenAid stand mixer with bonus ice cream maker attachment.  I may have mentioned that once or twice as well.

If you’ve got the right equipment, it’s really easy to make ice cream.  I promise.  And this stuff is good!

It also tastes great mixed with coffee and ice in the blender.

Toasted Coconut Ice Cream
(slightly adapted from Ultimate Mexican 2011 ed.) 
 
1 370 ml can partly skimmed evaporated milk
1/2 cup lite coconut milk
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup whipping cream
1 tbsp lime juice  
1 tbsp vanilla
1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut, toasted *
 
Combine evaporated milk, coconut milk, and sugar in a bowl and stir until sugar dissolves.  Stir in whipping cream and vanilla, then stir in the toasted coconut.  Place in fridge to chill at least 8 hours or overnight.
 
Add lime juice.  Freeze in ice cream maker per manufacturer instructions.  For my insulated bowl style one, it was about 20 minutes.
 
“Ripen” by transferring to a container and freezing for about 4 hours to let the ice cream harden so you don’t have a melty disaster on your hands.
 
* Toast coconut by heating a pan on medium heat.  Add coconut.  Stir until fragrant and starts to brown.  Watch it doesn’t burn.
 
6 thoughts on “Toasted Coconut Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

