Summer Ravioli Pasta Salad

My thyroid is crapping out on me.

I had my follow-up with the radiologist this week and he told me I’m now in the borderline treatment group of having hypothyroidism.  My poor little thyroid gland just isn’t making as much thyroid hormone anymore.  Apparently this commonly happens around the two year mark (which I’m not quite to just yet).

And they told me this could happen.  But they didn’t say it would happen so soon!  I figured that maybe years from when I had the radiation my gland would conk out.  Not in just two years!  I’m still waiting for all my hair to grow back to chin length!

I know it’s not a huge deal.  It’s very easy to treat, and when the time comes, I’ll take a pill every day to fix it.  And hypothyroidism is a very common condition.  I dispense Synthroid like a billion times a day, so I’m not alone.  I have family members who have come by it of “natural causes.”

The thing that bums me out is that if I’d never had the lymphoma, I would never have had the radiation, and my thyroid gland would be producing all the thyroid hormone I need.  I shouldn’t blame my thyroid.  It’s not its fault.  I’m an overachiever who wishes she could say her thyroid gland gave a good fight and lasted longer than the norm.

Plus why didn’t they just tell me to expect this at this point if it’s so common!  Then I would have been prepared.  I don’t like the unknown.  I don’t like not being in control of the situation.

I even braved the hospital in a torrential downpour on my own this time, as Michael (or as my doctor calls him, my “partner”) was in Cape Breton for work.

In my attempt at shock aversion therapy I went shopping and spent way too much money, but I got three cute new dresses!  I also met up with some old friends from pharmacy school and had a specially prepared coconut mochaccino concoction from Starbucks.

So enough with all the glandular/hospital talk.  There’s a long weekend coming up folks!  If I were a “real” blogger I would have made some spectacular creation with maple leaves all over it or something.

But I am not.  I am a “wanna-be” blogger.

The best I can offer you is this pasta salad recipe that you can make for your BBQ get-togethers.

It’s easy to make, and I think you’ll like it.

Summer Ravioli Pasta Salad
(slightly adapted from Food Network Magazine)
 
1/4 red onion, thinly sliced
350 g package fresh cheese with spinach ravioli
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Juice and zest of half a lemon
1 clove garlic, finely grated
Pepper
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, cut in half
1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
 
Place onion in a bowl of ice water and let soak for 20 minutes.  I’m thinking this is to take that onion-y edge off them.
 
Meanwhile, cook the ravioli per package directions.  When done, drain and rinse under cold water.
 
Whisk olive oil, lemon juice and zest, garlic, and pepper in a large bowl.  Add pasta, tomatoes, and herbs.  Toss to combine.
 
One thought on “Summer Ravioli Pasta Salad

Leave a Reply

