Onion And Garlic Hummus

Is anybody else out there finding it ridiculously hard to go to work these days?

Perhaps it’s because Mother Nature has provided us with glorious summer weather for the first time in a few years.

I think I had forgotten that this is what summer is supposed to be like.

But Mother Nature and I still aren’t on the best of terms.

Since Saturday morning was gorgeous, I was dying to go to the beach.  This required quite a bit of effort.

For one thing, I had to convince Michael that we should go.  He claims he doesn’t like going, despite the fact that we went to the beaches around here when we were first dating and he has willingly gone on many a beach vacation with me and spent hours on beaches thousands of miles away.

This is really hard on me, as I would spend all my non-working time at the beach if possible.  But if I want to spend time with my boyfriend, that’s not always possible.

So he finally agreed to go to the beach, since he couldn’t come up with anything better for us to do.

I set my GPS and off we went for the hour long drive to the beach (another reason why it takes effort to go to beach is it’s so far away!).

Unfortunately, I haven’t updated the maps, and they’ve been doing some construction in that part of the province.  The GPS didn’t know about the new exit, and there was no left turn where she was prompting me to go, so we ended up driving another 20 km out before we could turn around.

By the time we finally got to the beach, it had clouded over.

Why couldn’t you co-operate, Mother Nature?  I went through all that effort to get there.

Discouraged?  Yes, very.

Better luck next time.

So, the moral of the story is I would rather spend every single day at the beach.  And going to work would be so much easier if I lived close enough so I could go to the beach right afterwards.

And this is why I need to move to Hawaii.

Anyway, here’s a hummus recipe.  It makes a good lunch to take to work, if you have to go.  And I’m sure it would make a great snack to take to the beach.

Onion and Garlic Hummus

(slightly adapted from Food Network Magazine)

1 500 g can chickpeas (2 cups)

100 ml reserved liquid from chickpeas

1 clove garlic, finely grated

3 tbsp tahini

Juice of 1 lemon

1 tsp dried onion flakes

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

Drain and rinse chickpeas, reserving 100 ml of chickpea liquid.  Put everything in a food processor and blend until smooth and creamy.

Serve with mini pitas and veggies.

I’m working for the weekend.  And it’s only Monday.  Ugh.

Leave a Reply

