Moroccan Quinoa Salad

I got The Looneyspoons Collection cookbook for Christmas (OK, my grandparents gave me money, and that’s what I chose to buy with it), and it’s quickly becoming one of my favorite cookbooks.

And I love cookbooks.

I love to look at them and drool over the recipes and think about what I want to make from them.

So I have a lot of cookbooks.

I’m actually running out of places to put them.

Anyway, so I’ve been trying recipes from this book a lot lately.  And Michael’s been looking through it and picking recipes for me to make too.  He’s on a “nothing” kick again, so we’re trying to be healthy.

And that’s what Janet and Greta, the authors of this cookbook, are all about.

We had the Wowie Maui Chicken on Saturday, which was basically a sweet and sour chicken and rice one pot wonder!  Although I did under-cook the rice.  Woops.  But I’ll still be making it again (and cooking the rice properly).

And a couple of weeks ago I made this quinoa dish to take to work for lunches.

I felt very exotic since there was curry powder and chick peas in it.

Not my usual style.

But it was good!

Moroccan Quinoa Salad

(ever so slightly adapted from The Looneyspoons Collection)

1 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed in cold water

2 cups chicken stock

1 tsp curry powder

1 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp ground coriander

1 tsp honey

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/2 cup red pepper, chopped

1/2 cup carrots, grated

1/2 cup English cucumber, chopped

1/2 cup green onion, chopped

Juice of 1 lemon

2 tbsp fresh mint leaves, chopped

Pepper

Combine the quinoa, stock, curry powder, cumin, coriander, and honey in a pot and bring to a boil.  Cover, reduce heat to low and simmer for about 20 minutes until liquid is absorbed.  Take off heat and let stand for 10 minutes.  Then fluff with fork and allow to cool completely.

After quinoa has cooled, combine with all the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl and refrigerate at least an hour before serving.

2 thoughts on “Moroccan Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

