Guacamole Burgers

Have you been watching the Olympics?

Silly question!  Of course you’ve been watching the Olympics!

I don’t tune in for any sport in particular.  I tend to turn them on in the morning while I’m eating breakfast and in the evening after work.  If I don’t like what’s on one channel, I’ll switch to another to see if they have something better on.

But my favorite sports are gymnastics and synchronized diving.

Since when has kayaking through artificial rapids been an Olympic sport?  Clearly I don’t even know what half of the sports are.

Have you noticed how fit all the Olympians are?

Maybe that’s why they’re at the Olympics, and I’m the one watching them from my couch.

But I’ll tell you this, if guacamole eating was an Olympic sport, I’d be awesome at it!

These guacamole topped burgers are a summer favorite.  They’re great served with nacho chips for scooping up the extra guac, or sweet potato fries.

Guacamole Burgers

Guacamole (see below)

2 burgers (I cheat and use the pre-fab ones, one day I’ll make my own)

jalapeno lime BBQ sauce

2 cheddar cheese slices

2 multigrain thin buns

Heat grill to high heat.  Grill burgers as directed on package.  Once flipped, brush on BBQ sauce.  Once other side is cooked, flip again, and brush with BBQ sauce.  Put cheese slice on top and let melt.  Place thin bun halves on the upper part of the grill to toast lightly.  Cover until cheese is melted and buns toasted.

Assemble by placing burger on top of bun and spooning a large scoop of guacamole on top.  Cover with bun top and enjoy!

Guacamole

1-2 avocados (depending on how much guacamole you want to make)

1 plum tomato, seeded, finely chopped

1/4 red onion, finely chopped

1 jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped

Juice of 1 lime

Halve and scoop out flesh from avocados and put into a bowl.  Mash with the lime juice to your desired consistency.  I like mine a little chunky.  Add in the remaining ingredients and stir to combine.

You can store it in the fridge for a day if you cover with plastic wrap and press down right on top of the guacamole.  It does start to brown, so best if eaten right away.

Happy grilling!

2 thoughts on “Guacamole Burgers

  1. Happy to be following your blog posts. Love your format and writing style. Can’t wait to try some of the recipes. I have been to a few of the places on your travel list – I highly recommend New Orleans! Hoping to make a return visit next spring.

Leave a Reply

