There’s No Place Like Home…

I spent a glorious four day weekend at my parents’ cottage on the North Shore of PEI in Sea View.  I’ve been going to that beach forever, and it holds a special place in my heart.  It really is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to.

And I like to go to beaches a lot.

The beach is my antidepressant of choice.  There is just something about the sand, the sun, and the sound of the waves crashing gently on the shore that soothes my soul.

I could sit and stare at the ocean forever I think.

One of my favorite parts of my visit were my morning walks on the beach.  I like the calm and stillness that is there before everybody else shows up on the beach.  I loved watching the morning sun sparkling on the water.

I even did some yoga on the beach!  Crossed #13 off the summer to-do list.  Then my dad told me I was turning into a Chinese ninja.

My other favorite part was drinking coffee and reading while sitting on the deck with a view of the ocean, the pond, and rolling hills.  The fields looked like a patchwork quilt of different crops.  Why did I never fully appreciate the view before?  Talk about finding beauty close to home.

And on Saturday, we walked up the beach and the tide was low enough that we waded out to the flower pot rock.  The only other time I’d been out and touched the rock was probably about twenty years ago when my parents took my sister and me out there.  Maybe in another twenty years I’ll go out and touch it again.

Other awesome events that took place: supper and three ice cream cones (not on the same day) from Frosty’s, a game of Settler’s of Catan, the dinner theater at the Brother’s Two in Summerside, a bonfire on the beach (#12) that my cousin started with a blow torch, fireworks, brunch at the Red Shores, and three fabulous beach days!

It was SO hard to leave.  I wish I could spend more time over there.  I’m hoping to get over at least once more this summer.  Hopefully Mother Nature will co-operate and give me perfect weather again.

7 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home…

Leave a Reply

