Grilled Pineapple Salsa

Ever since the Olympics closing ceremony, I’ve been in love with One Direction!

Michael’s been going on about how awesome and popular they are with the masses for ages, because he listens to satellite radio and they discuss such things.  While I listen to poor people (free) radio.  Apparently, you’re more hip and up on current trends if you listen to rich people radio.

Anyways, point is… What Makes You Beautiful is my new favorite song, and it totally made my day when it was on the radio as I was driving to work on Saturday and I think I should start listening to it every day before work because it makes me happy.  I was singing it in my head all morning and my mood was greatly improved.

But how come the One Direction boys are so young?  I mean, they look like they’re fifteen.  When did I get so old?

But I’m glad the boy band is making a comeback.  Remember this?  Or this? Now there was a boy band.

The Backstreet Boys had dance moves.  Where are One Direction’s dance moves?

I regret not going back to Vegas last year to see NKOTBSB’s concert.

I did see BSB in concert once.  It was in 2010, so not in their hay day.  But still, it was a life goal accomplished.  I may have had chemo that day, but I didn’t let that, or my low white blood cell count stop me from seeing them.  I think my doctor and the nurses thought I was crazy.  They just didn’t understand.

Anyways, so after spending my Saturday night watching One Direction and Backstreet Boys music videos on Youtube, I’ve decided I need more boy bands in my life.  So I made a boy band playlist on Grooveshark and spent my Sunday blaring their soothing tunes from my laptop and dancing around as I did some baking.

In other news, this pineapple salsa is delicious!

Total fruit-in-my-food convert right here.  Fruit is not just for snacking people!  It’s great in salsa and on top of chicken.  That recipe is coming Friday.  Stay tuned folks!  It’s delicious!

But you can also eat this salsa with nachos.  I know I did.

Grilled Pineapple Salsa

(from The Looneyspoons Collection by Janet and Greta Podleski)

1 pineapple, cored and sliced into 6 rings

1 red pepper, cut in half and seeded

1 jalapeno pepper, diced

1/4 red onion, diced

Handful cilantro, chopped

Juice of 1 lime

Heat grill to medium.  Grill the pineapple rings and pepper halves about 4 minutes per side, until heated through and marked with grill lines.  Remove from grill and let cool.

Once cool enough to handle, dice the pineapple and pepper into small pieces.  Put everything in a bowl and stir to combine.

Let’s get a discussion going here people.  What’s your favorite Backstreet Boys’ song?  Mine is I Want It That Way.  Or More Than That.  We can also discuss your favorite Backstreet Boy.  Mine is Brian.  So jealous he’s married already.

Happy Monday!

7 thoughts on “Grilled Pineapple Salsa

Leave a Reply

