Grilled Lasagna

Did you know you can make lasagna on your BBQ?

I tried making grilled lasagna last year, and sort of burnt it.

This year, I figured I’d do better, but rain thwarted my attempts twice, and then the third attempt almost didn’t happen because of a bee.

A HUGE bumble bee.

I almost didn’t see it because it was just chilling on the floor of my deck right outside my patio door, and I almost stepped on it.  I thought it was dead at first because it didn’t move for ages.

But it wasn’t dead.  And it wasn’t flying away.

And I wanted lasagna.

So what did I do?  I called Michael.  Since he is deathly scared of bees, I figured he’d know what to do.

Solution: Spray Windex at it through the screen.  It worked!  The bee flew away, and I was able to grill my lasagna.

And it was very, very good.  And not burnt this time.

Bonus:  You just throw away the tin foil.  No pan to clean.

Grilled Lasagna

(from Food Network Magazine)

1 1lb ball fresh mozzarella, halved and thinly sliced (I used the slicing side of my box grater)

1/2 cup parmesan cheese, grated

Pinch of red pepper flakes

2 cloves garlic, grated

1 tbsp olive oil, + more for drizzling

3 tomatoes, 2 sliced and 1 grated

12 oven-ready lasagna noodles

Water

8 cups spinach

1/3 cup low fat ricotta

1/3 cup fresh herbs, chopped (I used a mixture of basil, parsley, and oregano)

Preheat grill to medium.  This is where I went wrong last year.  DO NOT grill on high or they will burn!

Combine mozzarella, parmesan, red pepper flakes, and all but 1/4 tsp of the garlic in a bowl.  Drizzle with olive oil and toss.

Get your foil ready.  Arrange four large pieces of foil on your work surface.  Drizzle foil with olive oil and place one lasagna noodle on top of each piece of foil.   I was using the long rectangle ones, so I snapped my lasagna noodles in half and placed them side by side to make more of a square shape.  If you’ve already got a square noodle, leave it as is.  Drizzle 1 tbsp of water on top of your four lasagna noodles.  Divide half of the spinach, tomatoes, and cheese mixture between the four packets.  Top with another lasagna noodle and 1 tbsp water, and repeat layering steps: spinach, tomatoes, cheese.  Top with another lasagna noodle and 1 tbsp water.  Drizzle with a little olive oil so they won’t stick, and fold up the tinfoil, crimping the ends to make four foil packets.

Grill packets until noodles are tender, about 10 minutes each side.  Set aside to rest for five minutes.  Mix the tomatoes, 1 tbsp olive oil, and leftover garlic in a small bowl.

Open foil packets.  To serve, top with tomato mixture, ricotta, and herbs divided among the four lasagnas.

FYI: The leftovers make a great work lunch the next day.  Just don’t heat up the foil in the microwave.

3 thoughts on “Grilled Lasagna

    • You can freeze this too. I made it a week or two ago, and had frozen a piece with a bit of the ricotta, tomato topping and herbs on it. I took it out and defrosted it for supper on Monday and it was great!

Leave a Reply

