Pina Colada Ice Cream

We’ve already re-visited my love of Boy Bands, now let’s re-visit my other musical tastes of the late 90’s/early millenium, shall we?

During the long, dark drive home from my parent’s cottage, I was bored and still had an hour to go.  There was nothing good on the radio and I was tired of listening to the same songs on my iPod.

That’s when I remembered my CD collection that lives in my console.

This CD collection is housed in one of those zippered books that had pockets in it for CDs to slot into.  It is also adorned with a sewn on moon patch.  Remember when sun and moons were all the rage?

This CD collection is a treasure trove of mixed CD’s that represent various time frames of my late high school/ early university years.  You know, like back before people stopped burning CD’s because everyone got MP3 players or iPods and didn’t need to anymore.

I picked a CD at random and put it in the player and my ears were delighted by such tunes as “If You Could Only See” by Tonic, “Boys of Summer” by Ataris, “All You Wanted” by Michelle Branch, and “I Will Buy You A New Life” by Everclear.

It was great because I had absolutely no idea what song was coming next!  And the memories!

Man, oh man… there’s nothing like a good mixed CD to take you back.

I remembered high school parties, driving around in my friend’s station wagon (well, her parent’s), going off to university, and struggling through Calculus assignments.

You know, back when life was simpler.

Anyway, that CD collection turned my boring drive into a trip down memory lane, and made it much more enjoyable.

Ice cream makes life more enjoyable too.  Especially when it is pina colada flavored.

Summer’s almost over, but it’s not yet, so I’m going to keep living in full-blown summer mode for as long as possible!

Pina Colada Ice Cream

(adapted from Savory Sweet Life and The Kitchen Witch)

2 cup whipping cream

3.4 cup light coconut milk

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp rum extract

1 tbsp vanilla

1 tsp coconut extract

1 cup crushed pineapple, drained (pretty much what’s left after draining a 14 oz. can)

Combine all ingredients except crushed pineapple in a shallow pan over medium heat.  Stir.  Heat until just starts to lightly bubble.  Take off of heat and stir until all the sugar dissolves.  Let cool to room temperature.

Freeze in ice cream maker per manufacturer instructions.   My insulated freezer bowl style is about 30 minutes.  Add the crushed pineapple during the last five minutes of freezing.

Transfer to a bowl and ripen in freezer about four hours.

Have a great long weekend!

5 thoughts on “Pina Colada Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

