Coconut Lime Cupcakes

Since I’m clinging to summer with a death grip, today I’m sharing a summery cupcake with you.  But I assure you, it would be equally delicious at any time of the year.

A few weeks ago I was at the Bulk Barn, and after I got through all the Halloween candy (Seriously?  It was still August!), I discovered coconut flour!

It smelled sooooo good, I scooped some into a bag and took it home.

I’d been planning on making these cupcakes, and figured I’d just swap out all the regular flour and put in coconut flour instead.

A quick Google search revealed that was a bad idea.

What did people do before Google?  Their cupcakes wouldn’t turn out.

Some pointers on coconut flour:  Don’t replace any more than twenty-five percent of the flour in the original recipe with coconut flour.  And for whatever amount of coconut flour you use, add that same amount of extra liquid.  For example, in this recipe I used 3/4 cup of coconut flour, so I added 3/4 cup of coconut milk as my extra fluid.

So ya, cupcakes.

I made them, a whole big batch of twenty-four, because I was going to my parents’ cottage and knew there was a mini-family reunion of sorts going on with my Dad’s side of the family.  There was going to be lots of people around so I needed lots of cupcakes.  Plus, I dropped some off to Michael and his co-workers, and then I took some in to work with me.

Cupcakes for everyone!

And I was a little nervous that my Dad’s family wouldn’t like them, because I wasn’t sure what their stance on coconut was, but everyone seemed to like them!

At least, that’s what they told me to my face.

The other awesome thing about these cupcakes is that you don’t have to worry about being an expert frosting artist because you just slap some frosting on, then roll the cupcake around in some coconut.  Imperfections camouflaged!

Coconut Lime Cupcakes

(adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod)

Makes 24 cupcakes

2 cups sugar

Zest of 1 lime

1 1/2 cup butter or margarine, room temperature

5 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tsp coconut extract

1 tbsp fresh lime juice

2 1/4 cup flour

3/4 cup coconut flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup buttermilk

3/4 cup lite coconut milk

3/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut

Coconut Lime Buttercream frosting (see below)

Extra shredded coconut for garnish

Preheat oven to 325º.  Prepare cupcake tin with cupcake liners.

In a small bowl, combine sugar and lime zest and rub together with your fingers until fragrant.  Put in the bowl of a stand mixer and cream together with butter about 5 minutes.  Add the eggs in, one at a time and mix until combined.

Combine the extracts, lime juice, and both kinds of milk in a small bowl, or large measuring cup.

Combine the dry ingredients (both flours, baking powder and soda) in a small bowl.

Add a third of the dry ingredients alternating with half of the wet ingredients to the creamed butter mixture in the stand mixer,  mixing until combined after each addition, until everything has been added.  Stir in the coconut.

Spoon into prepared tin.  Bake for 25-35 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Let cool.

Frost with coconut lime buttercream.  Put extra shredded coconut in a small bowl or dish and turn cupcake upside down and press into the coconut until cupcake is completely coated.  This technique works great because it hides any frosting imperfections!

Coconut Lime Buttercream

1/2 cup butter, room temperature

1/2 cup shortening

1 tsp clear vanilla

2 tsp coconut extract

4 tbsp lime juice

4 tbsp coconut milk

6 cups icing sugar

Cream butter and shortening together in a bowl of a stand mixer.  Add the lime juice, vanilla, coconut extract and coconut milk.  Mix together.  Add the icing sugar, a few cups at a time and mix together until nice and fluffy.  If needed, add extract coconut milk if icing is too thick, or more icing sugar if icing is too thin.

And my sister decided to stay home that weekend.  I bet she’s sorry she missed these cupcakes now.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Lime Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

