A New Journey Begins…

This fall I’m starting a yoga teacher training program.  Tomorrow’s my first day.

I’m a little scared.

I started doing yoga at some point during university.  I was in it for the strength and flexibility.

Meditation?  Breathing?  Relaxation?  Wasn’t really into it.

That’s changed.

Over the last two years or so, yoga has become more important to me.  I find myself trying to breathe more and think less in stressful situations or anxious moments (which happen a lot because I’m high strung).  I’ve noticed I stand up straighter and try to balance my weight more evenly.  I look forward to that feeling of peace that comes with savasana.

I struggled a little bit with the decision about whether I should take the plunge and sign up for the teacher training course.

There’s homework and it is a bit of a time commitment, so I’m a little concerned about how I’ll manage my time between working/yoga training/Michael/life in general.

But after I decided I was going to do it, I felt good.

And that’s how you know you’ve made the right decision.

I’m looking forward to meeting some new people and challenging myself while working towards a goal.

At the moment I’m not sure if I’ll end up actually teaching yoga.  My main reason for doing the training is to deepen my own yoga practice and hopefully become more optimistic in the process.  I also need help letting go of things.  Hopefully this will help teach me how to do that.  And who knows?  Maybe I will decide to teach a class or two when I’m done.

I’m sure my journey will have its ups and downs, but I’m also sure that it will be worth it.

Namaste.

4 thoughts on “A New Journey Begins…

Leave a Reply

