Mocha Coconut Truffles

Does anybody else out there get a touch of the Christmas blues?

IMG_4758

I blame being a working adult on part of it.  How is one supposed to have time to watch all the Christmas classics like Rudolph and Frosty and Charlie Brown when one is working all day, trying to get some fitness so as not to gain a million pounds from the mass quantities of chocolate one is consuming, and get ready for Christmas?

IMG_4752

See, as a student, I had at least two whole weeks off to spend lazing around my parents’ house, watching Christmas specials, baking cookies, and wrapping presents.  I could spend every evening sitting in front of my lit up Christmas tree.

But work just gets in the way!  It’s hard to fit in the baking and Christmas tree sitting around a work schedule.

I say the world should band together and make it mandatory for everyone to have at least a week off at Christmas, in addition to the vacation hours one already gets throughout the year.

Good plan, right?

Who’s with me?

IMG_4756

Anyway… How about some truffles to put one in the festive spirit?

The first attempt at these were an epic fail.  The recipe called for “heavy” cream, which I couldn’t find at the grocery store and I don’t own a fancy smart phone so I had no means of googling it to find an alternative.  I made an educated guess and bought some “blend” cream.  Now I don’t know if it was the blend cream, or the fact that initially I had tried to half the recipe so I could make more different flavors, but the ganache did not set and was a soupy mess.  No rolling balls out of it.  After a google search on my laptop, I realized that “heavy” cream is “whipping” cream.  So I tried again with a full recipe and the whipping cream and we seem to have had success.

IMG_4754

Mocha Coconut Truffles

Adapted from Food Network Magazine

12 oz semisweet chocolate (I used 12 of the Baker’s squares)

1 cup whipping cream

1 tbsp butter

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp coconut sxtract

1/4 cup Kahlua

Shredded coconut to roll in

Chop your chocolate into smaller pieces and put in a heatproof bowl.  In a saucepan on medium heat, bring the cream and butter to a simmer.  Pour the simmering cream mixture over the chocolate and let sit until completely melted.  Stir with a rubber spatula until smooth.

Add in the vanilla and coconut extracts and stir.  Then add in the Kahlua and stir.  You want to stir until the ganache turns nice and smooth and shiny.  Pour into a shallow baking dish and chill in the fridge until firm, about three hours to overnight.

Put some of the coconut on a plate or in a shallow bowl.  Once ganache is chilled, remove from fridge, and working quickly with cold, clean hands, roll about a tablespoon sized amount of ganache into a ball and then roll the truffle in the coconut to coat.

Keep rolling unit you’ve used up all of your ganache.  I ended up with 28.  Your hands will probably get very messy from the ganache, but it’s worth it, trust me!

IMG_4760

One thought on “Mocha Coconut Truffles

Leave a Reply

