2012 Wrap-Up

As 2012 comes to a close, let’s take a moment to reflect on the past year.

I did a lot of awesome stuff, travelled to a lot of awesome places, and ate a lot of awesome food.

I started up this blog back in February, and while I haven’t risen to blogging super stardom (hah!), it’s been a great source of enjoyment for me.  I love getting “likes” and reading every comment posted!  Thanks for taking the time to let me know you’ve been here and enjoyed what you saw.

cupcakesmilkshake 100

This blog has inspired to try new recipes and pushed me out of my comfort zone in the kitchen, like when I made homemade cream eggs.  It’s given me the motivation to actually do the things I’ve always said I should do some day, like go to Greekfest, the Multicultural festival, and Tallships.  It’s also prompted me to take pictures at these events and reflect on them so that I could share my experiences with you through my blog posts.

Basically, you could say that A Freckle In Time has inspired me to live my life more fully.

Looking back over my posts from last year, I feel so blessed that I was able to travel to some of the most beautiful places I’ve ever

Hawaii 734Hawaii left a lasting impression on me.  Despite the horrible flight delays, my two week Hawaiian vacation is my favorite trip I’ve ever taken, and I can’t wait to go back there some day!  The beaches, the atmosphere, the scenery… it’s all amazing.  If it’s possible, I fell a little more in love with beaches in general after being there.  The Big Island, Oahu, Kauai, and Maui are all beautiful, but Maui stole my heart the most.

France 1086

France amazed me with its history and its beauty.  I’m so glad I got to see so much of this magnificent country.

All my traveling has opened my eyes to the beauty that can be found all around.  Maybe it was the awesome weather we had this year, or maybe it was my new found appreciation for nice scenery, but I don’t think the beaches of PEI or NS have looked as pretty to me before.

Labour Day weekend 113

My favorite recipes of 2012 include coconut lime chicken, Jamaican jerk chicken, pico de gallo rice pilaf, memories of Amalfi risotto, Miami Vice cupcakes, pina colada cupcakes, vanilla coconut pound cake, and s’mores milkshakes.  Yummy!

IMG_1328

2012 was also the year I fell in love with dystopian young adult fiction.  It was the year of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Matched (I got the third and final book in the series for Christmas and I’m super pumped to read it!).

It was the year the fifth and final Twilight movie came out.

And it was the year I decided to learn how to be a yoga teacher.  I can’t believe I’m halfway through the training already!  Not only am I learning a lot about yoga, but I’m learning a lot about myself as well.  Letting go and acceptance being two biggies.

So all in all, although 2012 has had its share of challenges, it’s also been a pretty awesome year!

Here’s hoping 2013 will be just as great!

Thanks for reading 🙂

One thought on “2012 Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

