Pomegranate Chicken Thighs

So I said I wouldn’t get involved in watching The Bachelor this season.

I’ve got stuff to do.  I can’t be wasting two hours every week watching that trash.  But my DVR recorded it for me (how thoughtful) and then I started watching it while I was eating supper because there was nothing else on and then I remembered that Sean was the bachelor.

And ABC took advantage of my love for the familiar.  I remember Sean as being adorable from Emily’s season of The Bachelorette.  So now I feel like I need to watch the rest of this season.

Well played ABC.

And if the season premiere is anything like the rest of the season, it looks like there will be plenty of awkwardness, ridiculousness, and cattiness.

Who acts like this in real life?

A few words of advice for future Bachelor contestants, don’t get wasted at the first cocktail party.  Not only will you make a fool of yourself, but there are cameras… filming you.  Your behaviour will be broadcast on national TV.

IMG_4770

Anyway, you know what’s not ridiculous?  This pomegranate chicken.

This was my first time cooking with chicken thighs.  I’ve always been a boneless, skinless chicken breast kind of girl.  But you know what?  Thighs aren’t too bad.  They stay nice and moist, which can sometimes be tricky with chicken breasts.  And you can usually get a good buy on them.

It’s a recipe from a dietician, but don’t let that scare you.  You’d never know it.  It’s full of delicious goodness.

IMG_4768

Pomegranate Chicken Thighs

Recipe from Sobeys Dieticians, reprinted with permission from one of the dieticians, method adapted slightly.

1 tbsp canola oil

1/4 cup onion finely chopped (I used 1 small onion)

2 cloves garlic, grated on a fine mesh grater

1.3 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs

1 cup pomegranate juice

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup honey

Pomegrante arils for garnish

Preheat oven to 400º.  Heat oil in an oven safe frying pan on medium heat.  Add onion and cook until lightly browned.  Add garlic and cook for another minute.  Remove from frying pan and save for later.

Put the pan back on the heat and add the chicken thighs.  Brown on all sides of the chicken thighs.  To make sure that the chicken cooks through, I transferred the thighs to the oven to finish cooking through.  Depending on how long you brown them on the stove top, this may take 15-20 minutes.  Make sure your chicken is cooked completely.  You may want to use a meat thermometer to make sure, or you can cut into one to make sure it’s no longer pink inside.

While chicken is cooking, get the glaze/sauce going.  In a small pot, combine the pomegranate juice, balsamic vinegar, and honey.  Cook on medium-high heat until the sauce has reduced by half its volume, stirring often.

Once chicken is cooked and sauce is thickened, remove the chicken from the oven and put it back on the burner.  Add the onion mixture back to the pan with the sauce and cook until the chicken is well coated in the sauce (maybe another 5 minutes or so).

To serve, place the chicken on a plate with some sauce drizzled over top.  Garnish with pomegranate arils.

IMG_4773

One thought on “Pomegranate Chicken Thighs

  1. pam2paige says:

    The bachelor aside, I was so enticed with the dish. Wow! It’s a little hard to find pomegranate in the local supermarket here but I have to try out this recipe when I found some. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.

Leave a Reply

