As One Chapter Finishes, A New One Begins

It’s been a while… There’s been a lot going on the past couple of months, and something had to give.  Unfortunately, that meant blogging.  But hopefully things will settle down and I’ll be back to posting on a more regular basis.

As I mentioned last summer, I signed up for a yoga teacher training program.  That seems so long ago now, yet it also seems like just yesterday that I showed up for my first class, all full of nervous energy.  I graduated at the beginning of April.  I am now an official yoga teacher!

I want to share with you a little bit about my experience.

Warriors

I loved yoga before I did the course, but now I love it even more!  There is so much more to yoga than just the asanas (poses).  After eight months, I feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface.  I’m inspired to keep learning, to keep reading about yoga, and to do yoga even more!  One of my new life goals is to go on a yoga vacation someday.

Initially, I signed up for the program to deepen my own yoga practice and that goal has been accomplished.  I try to do at least a little bit of yoga every morning.  If I’m not able to make it to a class, now I have the confidence to make up my own sequence and do my own practice.  I really appreciate the flexibility  and creativity involved in putting together a sequence.  For this ability, I will be forever grateful.  No matter where I go in life, I know I will always have my yoga with me.

I also wanted to become more optimistic and less anxious, and I needed help letting go of things.  I would like to report that I had a major epiphany and all my mental issues magically dissolved and I am now the most zen yogini who ever lived… but that would be a lie.  I realize now that is also my ego talking, and was perhaps too lofty a goal.  Working out mental demons takes time and effort.  It’s a work in progress.  The awareness is there now.  I guess that’s the first step.  I will continue to work on cultivating gratitude, opening my heart, being present, and letting go.

Spring Yoga

In January, an opportunity came up for me to transfer to a job closer to Michael.  This added another challenging aspect to finishing up my yoga course.  Now not only was I juggling work/Michael/yoga training/my own yoga practice/life, I had thrown preparing for a move into the mix.  Needless to say my stress level ratcheted up, but I’m working through it.

The timing couldn’t have been more perfect.  I graduated and became a yoga teacher one week, and the next week I started my new job.  It’s almost like I was meant to move to my old town, take the yoga training and leave.  Maybe everything really does work out the way it’s supposed to.

It’s a whole lot of transitions and new beginnings.  Saying goodbye to the lovely ladies in my sangha, the yoga studio that I’ve practiced at for the last five years, and the yoga teachers who inspired me to take the training course is really hard.  But, there’s a yogic principle to help deal with that!  Aparigraha teaches us that we shouldn’t be attached to things and outcomes.  When we get attached, that’s where our suffering comes from.  I realized I needed to be cultivating more aparigraha before I moved when people kept asking me about it and if I was excited and all I could think about was leaving my sangha and my apartment.  I need to detach from these things, and let go.  In letting go of attachments, I create more space for new opportunities in my life.

I don’t know if I’ll end up teaching yoga.  I would like to.  With the hecticness of the move (oh, and I just got back from Antigua too… Ya, not the best timing for a vacation, but the trip was booked long before a move was ever in the picture.  I’ll tell you more about that later), I’ve just returned to yoga classes this week, and my search is on to find some that are the right fit for me.  After experiencing new teachers, I realize just how much I want to share what I’ve learned with others.

Cheers

The yoga training course introduced me to a lot of amazing women who have inspired me be a better version of myself.  We all have unique gifts to offer.  We should honour ourselves and let them shine!

Namaste.

3 thoughts on “As One Chapter Finishes, A New One Begins

Leave a Reply

