Another Summer, Another Trip To PEI

I spent last weekend on Prince Edward Island and, boy, was it hard leaving!

IMG_5189

Everything about PEI is so familiar, so homey to me, because I was born and raised there and I still have family ties there.  I always feel homesick the first couple of days after I leave.

IMG_5169

Michael and I spent Canada Day weekend there.  I really think Michael could care less about the beach and the ocean and the scenery.  I think he enjoys the getting away part the most.  Give him a book and an iPad in his own apartment and he’s restless and bored.  Give him a book and an iPad in a different setting and he’ll amuse himself for hours.

IMG_5181

I certainly enjoy the getting away part myself.  Just taking myself out of my normal routine and unplugging from the internet is so refreshing!  Throw in ocean views, rolling green hills, and sandy beaches with red cliffs and I’m in heaven!  And the peace and quiet!  I never realized how nice it is to be able to hear nature or the sound of the breeze through an open window.

IMG_5259

I also especially enjoyed spending some time with my mom and dad.  Even though I don’t live super far from home, it’s still far enough that I can’t just pop over for supper or a visit whenever the mood strikes.  I don’t get to see my family as much as I would like to, and I think that’s part of the reason why I always find it so hard leaving.

IMG_5269I was worried the weather was going to be awful the entire weekend, but Mother Nature co-operated and while it was cold and rainy on our drive over on Friday, it was warm and the rain held off the rest of the weekend, and the sun even came out on Sunday!

IMG_5292

I spent my weekend drinking Baileys in my coffee, walking and doing yoga on the beach, reading, and BBQ-ing.  I also had time for a trip to the Anne of Green Gables house, Cows ice cream, lunch at Frosty’s, and I even started my Christmas shopping.  There’s something about poking around craft stores that I find especially appealing while visiting PEI.

IMG_5253

So, if you’ve got some vacation time this summer and you’re not sure what to do with it, I highly suggest renting a cottage along the North Shore of Prince Edward Island.  It’s the perfect place to relax and unwind.

Leave a Reply

