Margarita Chicken Burgers With Strawberry Mango Tequila Salsa

Nothing says summer like burgers.  I’ve decided I need more burgers in my life.

And I need more of these burgers in particular.

IMG_5118

I would have grilled them, but I ran out of propane a couple of weeks ago, and I’m lazy and haven’t gotten around to getting it refilled yet.  It also might have something to do with the fact that I’m scared that I will explode somehow during the process of exchanging the tank.

I mean, I live in an apartment building, and I don’t want to carry a heavy, full propane tank up a million flights of stairs.  And I don’t like the thoughts of being trapped in an elevator with a propane tank.

What is the proper way to transport a propane tank through an apartment building?

I know in a car you’re supposed to stand it up on the floor in the back seat and crack the window, but there’s no window in an elevator.

So when I eventually work up the courage to brave being exploded, I will get more propane, and then I will make more of these burgers because they are fantastic!

Tequila in the burger.  Tequila in the salsa.  Why not put some tequila in your drink too, and pair these with a big ol’ margarita.

Perfect for a summer barbecue.

IMG_5114

Margarita Chicken Burgers

Slightly adapated from Annie’s Eats

1 pkg ground chicken

1 jalapeño, seeded and finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, finely grated

3 tbsp of cilantro or so, finely chopped (I usually just eyeball it)

Zest of 1 lime

Juice of half a lime

1 shot of tequila

Dash of soy sauce

1/2 cup panko bread crumbs

Burger buns of your choosing, toasted (I used multigrain thin buns)

Cheese (I used shredded marble, but use what you like)

Strawberry Mango Tequila Salsa, recipe to follow

Preheat grill pan or grill to medium heat.

Put all but last three ingredients in a bowl, and mix with your hands until thoroughly combined, but try not to overmix.  I think I’ve read that that makes for tough burgers.

Sort of smooth out mixture into a big disk in the bowl, then score in score with an X to divide it into quarters.  This is a little tip from Rachael Ray to help you end up with evenly sized burgers.  Form each quarter into a patty, pressing down to make an indentation in the middle.  You want the middles thinner because it helps the burger cook evenly.  They plump as they cook.

Grill burgers using either a grill pan or on the grill until cooked through and no longer pink in the middles, and juices run clear.  We don’t want any raw chicken!  I probably ended up cooking mine close to 10 minutes per side.  This will vary depending on you stove/grill/thickness of burgers.

When burgers are almost done, top with cheese and allow to melt.  Remove from grill/grill pan and place on toasted bun.  Top with salsa and enjoy!

Strawberry Mango Tequila Salsa

Adapted from Mango Strawberry Salsamole

1 small red pepper, seeded and finely chopped

5 large strawberries, chopped

1 mango, peeled and chopped

4 green onions, sliced

1 jalapeño, seeded and finely chopped

1 tbsp tequila

Juice of a lime

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

IMG_5117

Leave a Reply

