The Easiest-Best-Three-Ingredient-Chicken Recipe Ever (aka Salt and Pepper Chicken)

Holy moly, that’s a long title!

But it’s true!  This is the easiest, but also the best, chicken recipe you’ll ever make.  And you only need three ingredients.

Although the title is long, it is accurate.

DSC09182

But before we get to the chicken, let’s discuss Big Brother 15!

You know it’s officially summer once Big Brother starts.  And you know I think of the Big Brother cast as my BFFs since I hang out with them all summer long.  What a season it’s shaping up to be!

I don’t think there’s ever been such intense game play right off the bat like this.  Going after the strong players at first is practically unheard of!

And the hostility!  This is the meanest group of hot people I’ve ever seen.  For having good looks, some of these girls just don’t have beautiful insides to go along with them.  Just because you’re pretty does not give you permission to be nasty.

Other things I’ve found interesting about this season so far include:

1.  Aaryn and David were probably the shortest lived showmance ever.  It’s too bad he got voted out so early.  He was interesting to watch and got a lot of screen time.  But, lucky for him, I think he dodged a bullet by getting voted out and nipping that relationship in the bud.

2.  What is up with the relationship between Amanda and McRae??  Weirdest showmance ever!  But he’s grown on me.  He’s kinda sweet in that nerdy awkward kind of way.  And he told her she was his queen.  Isn’t that really all any woman wants in a relationship?  Good for the pizza delivery boy!

3.  What was up with GinaMarie’s meltdown over Nick being voted out?  You would have thought someone died.  She’d only known him a couple of weeks.  I don’t get it.  I can’t fully get on board with GinaMarie because she’s one of the mean girls.

4.  I’m not sure how I feel about the whole MVP thing.  My theory is that CBS changed it this week to have America vote for the third nominee instead of a MVP who could nominate a third houseguest because they were tired of America voting Elissa, Rachel’s sister, as MVP every week.

So there’s my Big Brother rant.

Now, back to chicken.  I wasn’t going to blog it because it’s so simple, but then I decided because it is so good, you need to know about it.

I first made this last summer after going on a major pinning binge and pinning like every Martha Stewart chicken recipe.  This one caught my eye because Michael is in love with Boston Pizza’s salt and pepper chicken wings, and I may steal one from his order every time he gets them so I can confirm that they are delicious.  If salt and pepper wings taste awesome, why wouldn’t salt and pepper chicken breast grilled on the BBQ?

DSC09180

Salt and Pepper Grilled Chicken

slightly adapted from Martha Stewart

Serves 2, easily multiplied

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

2 chicken breasts (I used boneless, skinless)

Combine salt and pepper in small bowl.  Rub all over chicken breasts.  Let sit room temperature for 30 minutes (this kinda skeeved me out because I don’t like to let meat sit out on the counter, so I let them sit at room temperature for a bit, and then I put in the fridge until I was ready to BBQ).  Preheat grill to medium heat.  Grill until cooked through (no longer pink, juices run clear, use a meat thermometer if you’re not sure) about 10-15 minutes per side depending on thickness of your chicken.

DSC09185

I like to top the chicken with a fresh fruit salsa and serve with rice.  This time I used grilled pineapple salsa.

 

Leave a Reply

