Super Easy Individual Peach Cobblers

I know it’s been a while… Summer is busy!  I’ve been letting things (like housework and blogging) slide so I could spend time at the beach or on the waterfront.  You know, the important things in life.

IMG_5421

But this girl is trying to get herself back on track.  And that meant a morning cleaning, and some time in the kitchen.

If I’m not sitting on the beach reading a book, there’s nothing I’d rather be doing that playing around in the kitchen.

And guess what!  It’s peach season!

IMG_5406

The peaches that taste the best are the ones that come in the cardboard baskets.  I remember when I was little mom would buy  those peach baskets and I’d play with them when the peaches were gone.  I’d color them and put my markers in them.

I was kind of hesitant to buy a whole basket for myself.  Would I be able to eat all those peaches by myself?  I’ve tried buying a couple of the bulk peaches, but they just don’t taste as good.  So when I saw the peach baskets were out, I went for it and bought one.  All for myself.

Peaches are just so darn cute!

IMG_5415

Anyway, so I decided I was going to try baking something with them.  I used to be vehemently opposed to baking fruit.  My mom used to make apple crisp which I wouldn’t eat because it had cooked apples in it.  In hindsight, that was a big mistake.  Baked fruit is delicious!

I decided to go with cobbler.  I don’t think I’d ever had cobbler before.  Where has it been all my life!?!

So easy and so good!  Sweet and syrupy fruit with crunchy brown sugar topping.

And I decided to go the individual route by making it in ramekins.  A good idea I think, as it’s built in portion control.  I’m pretty sure if I’d made a big pan I would have dug in with a spoon and eaten the whole thing.  It bakes quicker this way too.  Another bonus.

This was the perfect end to my perfect supper.  Grilled pesto chicken burger with zucchini fries, and I discovered I get a channel that plays Full House reruns.

IMG_5416

Super Easy Individual Peach Cobbler

Adapted from Martha

Serves 4

3 cups peaches, sliced into wedges (about 4 peaches)

6 tbsp sugar

1/2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp corn starch

3 tbsp butter, room temp

2 tbsp brown sugar

1/2 cup flour

Vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt

Preheat oven to 375º.

Combine peaches, sugar, lemon juice, and corn starch in a medium sized bowl.  Divide evenly among 4 ramekins.

Mix butter and brown sugar in a medium sized bowel with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Add the flour and mix with your hands until it gets crumbly and clumps together.  Divide evenly over the peach mixture in the ramekins.

Put ramekins on a pizza pan or baking sheet and bake for 25-30 minutes until bubbly and brown.  Check on them after about 20 minutes.  If they’re browning too quickly, tent foil over top to make sure they don’t brown and burn too much.

Remove from oven and let cool slightly.  Top each with a scoop of ice cream/frozen yogurt and serve!

IMG_5424

What a fabulous summer dessert!  Definitely worth turning the oven on for.

One thought on “Super Easy Individual Peach Cobblers

Leave a Reply

