Long Time, No Blog

Oh hello there.

No, I did not drop off the face of the earth.  I’m still around.  I’ve just been… busy?

Actually, I don’t know where time has gone.  I had extreme lack of motivation last winter and into the spring which made it hard for me to get out of bed in the morning, let alone keep a blog up and running.

I went to Hawaii (again).  It was beautiful (again).

IMG_6843

IMG_6474

IMG_6834

Then it was summer and even though my work schedule changed to working every other weekend instead of one in three (womp womp), it meant I had three days off the weekend I wasn’t working.  And lucky for me, both my parents and my sister have cottages next door to each other in PEI… my favorite place to be in the summer.

IMG_7047

I was so glad to be able to spend as much time over there this year because when my dad called me in March and told me my mom’s Alzheimer’s was progressing and he didn’t think they’d be able to go to the cottage for the summer, I was heartbroken and mad at myself for not spending more time with them over there last year.  Thankfully, mom’s medications got changed around and she stabilized again, and they were able to spend the summer at the cottage after all.  It very well may have been the last summer that will happen and I am so grateful for every morning I sat on the deck with her, walk on the beach I took with her, and every ice cream at Frosty’s I ate with her.

So my summer was busy with work and cottage living.

And then September came and I turned thirty.  How did that happen?  Aren’t I still twenty-three?  Shouldn’t I have life figured out by now and be married or something?

Having a milestone birthday is a good excuse to travel (not that I need one).  But it did mean I got the final say in the destination.

And I picked Spain!

IMG_7582

Barcelona, Seville, and Mallorca specifically.  All places previously featured on the Amazing Race.  From now on, I only travel to destinations the Amazing Race has been to.  Just kidding.  But it did help give me ideas.  What really sealed the deal for me was seeing pictures of Park Guell in the Barcelona Lonely Planet book.  The colours!  I needed to see that mosaic lizard.

IMG_7336Also beaches, palm trees, and the Mediterranean?  Sounds like my kind of vacation spot.

IMG_8305

So I’ve recently plummeted back to reality and I’m struggling with the fact that the seasons magically transitioned from summer to fall while I was sitting on a beach in Spain.  Why is it still dark when I get up in the morning and why is it getting dark earlier at night?  What am I going to do when Daylight Savings Time hits?  No more beach going until next year.  Do I really have to pack my bathing suits away?  Arg.

In an attempt to keep the fall blues at bay (I struggle with them every year), I’ve decided I need more hobbies and contact with people.  So my goal is to resume blogging.  It will keep me busy, and let me ramble on to an invisible audience.  That’s sort of like a conversation, right?  Or maybe more like talking to myself…

Welcome back!  Thanks for listening/reading!

8 thoughts on “Long Time, No Blog

  1. Cynthia McCarthy says:

    So glad you have returned…from Hawaii, from Spain, from PEI, to meet us on the blog once more. As for autumn, (and your 20’s😉) I read a thought about that today, if I may share…
    “Autumn is a necessary transition between summer’s fruitfulness and spring’s new life. No new growth will come unless autumn agrees to let go of what has been. The same is true of our lives.” (Joyce Rupp)

  2. Carolyn Lunn says:

    Glad you’re back and that you got to spend such quality time with your Mum. All the best.

    Carolyn Lunn (Cindy’s sister)

    >

Leave a Reply

