So Many Places… How Does One Choose?

Probably about six or seven years ago I made a list of places I wanted to travel.  The list is now ever growing, especially thanks to seeing cool places on The Amazing Race or Bachelorette and Pinterest.  I’ve made it to four of the top five countries from my original list, and six of the original top ten.  I’d say that’s not too shabby.

IMG_7164

View of Barcelona’s port from Montjuic

I’m very lucky to be able to travel so often.  Ever since finishing treatment for lymphoma almost four years ago, I’ve been fortunate enough to travel at least twice a year.  Usually somewhere tropical in the spring and to Europe in the fall.

I had such a hard time deciding where to go this year!

Last year Michael turned thirty so he got to pick where we went and he knew he wanted to go to London so he could go to Portsmouth and see the Victory and all things Admiral Nelson.

But me… I couldn’t make a decision on where I wanted to spend my birthday.  I went to the library and pretty much took out every travel book they had for countries along the Mediterranean.  I flip flopped back and forth.  Maybe we should go back to southern Italy?  Or maybe back to southern France?  No, we should definitely go to Greece.  No, wait, Spain.  Greece. No, Italy.  No, Greece.  Greece.

And then I was so overwhelmed trying to pick just three Greek Islands out of the hundreds that exist.  I still couldn’t decide.

But then I started looking through the Lonely Planet Barcelona book and I saw pictures of the staircase and lizard and gingerbread houses of Park Guell and it was so colourful and beautiful, I knew I needed to see it!

IMG_7319

Park Guell

IMG_7262

Casa Batllo

Decision made!

With a few trips to Europe under out belts, Michael and I decided to plan our own itinerary this year.  We’ve done the bus tour thing in the past, and while a great way to see a lot in a short amount of time, and definitely easier because they handle all of the logistics, we wanted more freedom and time in the places we visited.

IMG_7559

Plaza de Espana

IMG_7521

View of Seville and its Cathedral from the rooftop terrace of our hotel

IMG_7946

Guadalquivir River in Seville

I picked Barcelona for Park Guell and its beaches.  I chose Seville, because while kinda far from Barcelona (but only a quick plane ride away!), I remembered seeing Plaza de Espana as a pit stop on The Amazing Race and it being so beautiful, and I knew I needed to see it.  Plus my sister had been there during her post university back packing trip, and I remember her saying how pretty it was.  And Mallorca because I really loved the pictures of all the little coves and beaches, and I needed to see the castle that was another Amazing Race pit stop.  The more I looked into it, the more interesting things I found to do in each place.

IMG_8323

Cala Pi, Mallorca

 

IMG_8193

View of Palma from Castell de Bellver ramparts

And even though I heard awful things about pit pockets in Spain, the only thing I ended up losing was my Purell.  I’m not sure if I just misplaced it, or if it was actually pit pocketed, but I blame the cold (which I’m still dealing with) I ended up with on not having hand sanitizer.  Apparently Europeans aren’t as germophobic as us North Americans, as I searched for a replacement with no luck.  I’ve never been so happy to see those little bottles of alcohol gel as I was at the Montreal airport!

I’m super glad with my choice to visit Spain!  I think it was the right decision.  There’s something about Southern Europe that really appeals to me.  I love the culture and the history… all amongst a tropical setting with beaches and palm trees.  It’s like all of my favorite things in one vacation destination!

IMG_8080

Sunrise over Badia de Palma, Mallorca

My mind is blown from all the amazing things that I saw and I can’t wait to share them with you!

3 thoughts on “So Many Places… How Does One Choose?

Leave a Reply

