Wai’anapanapa State Wayside Park

I just packed up my Christmas tree today, had to shovel my car out of its parking spot so I could get to step class, and January is looking like an awfully long, cold, dark month, so I felt like looking at something warm and sunny.  Perhaps you do too?

Let’s revisit Maui, shall we?

IMG_6835

The first time we went to Maui we didn’t have a rental car, so we missed out on driving the Road to Hana.  So when we went back to Maui last March, I knew this time around it was a must see!  There are so many places you can stop along the way, it’s hard to choose.  I knew Wai’anapanapa State Wayside Park was going to be on our list because it has a black sand beach.  And, as I discovered on the Big Island, black sand beaches are just cool!

IMG_6823

This one didn’t have honus, but it did have stunning views and colors so vibrant, they popped as if they were in high definition!

IMG_6800

There were just too many things to see along the road to Hana, and we wanted to make it to the Kipahulu section of Haleakala State Park in time to hike the Pipiwai trail, so we didn’t have as long to spend at Wai’anapanapa State Wayside Park as it deserved.  But what I did see, super impressed me.

IMG_6839

I loved how blue the water looked.  I loved how green the trees were.  I loved the contrast of the black cliffs.  I loved the sea arches were saw.

So beautiful.  Definitely worth the stop!

 

 

Leave a Reply

