Marshmallow Candy Cane Ice Cream

Let me tell you a tragic tale…

There once was a girl who had left her iPod in her car, and wanted to listen to some relaxing music as she went about her morning.  So the girl decided to take her laptop out into her living room and sit it on a ledge, something she has done many times before.

Unfortunately, on said morning, as the girl was reaching for her speaker cord, the laptop crashed to the ground and there was a horrendous black screen that said the hard drive could not be found.

A frantic trip to the computer nerds, and several days of waiting later, the girl was told that her hard drive was toast and nothing could be recovered.

I tell you this cautionary tale as a warning.  Do not wait for “later” to back up your work.  All my pictures… gone.  Except for my Facebook albums, which included all my trips except for Washington, and luckily I still had France on my memory card.  Even though the quality from Facebook won’t be as good as the originals, at least I can still look at them.  Thank goodness I finally got around to printing a copy of my taxes just a couple of months ago.

I felt kind of like Carrie Bradshaw in that episode of Sex and the City where her laptop gets a “sad Mac” and she loses all her work.

See, all life can be related to either Sex and the City  or Friends.

So what’s a girl to do when her lap top is dead?

Jump on the Apple bandwagon and convert from a PC user to a MacBook-er.

We’ll see how this goes.  I had a little trouble figuring out how to connect the power cord so I could plug it in.  And I have a feeling I will miss my right click.

At least now I won’t have to deal with a spastic mouse that jumps all over the place and starts typing where you don’t want it to.  And I’m excited about the iPhoto software.

So FOOD!

IMG_4707

Yes, I had planned to start sharing recipes again right before the tragic incident.

I know it’s winter (well technically winter doesn’t start until the 21st), but you can still eat ice cream!  In fact, candy cane ice cream is almost a requirement at this time of year.

IMG_4719

And you know how I like to take inspiration from scented candles?  Instead of plane ol’ candy cane ice cream, I added some marshmallow fluff because I’d recently purchased a fabulous marshmallow peppermint scented candy.

It did not disappoint.

FYI this ice cream stays quite soft because of all the sugar from all the candy canes (and fluff), but that’s OK.  I like a nice soft serve.

IMG_4720

Marshmallow Candy Cane Ice Cream

adapted from Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream

2 cups blend cream (10%)

1 cup whipping cream

1 1/4 cups sugar

3 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup marshmallow fluff

1 tbsp hot water

45 mini candy canes, crushed finely

In a bowl, combine creams and sugar, stirring until sugar dissolves.  Add vanilla and stir.  Let this sit for about 15 minutes, stirring every now and then, so that the flavors can combine.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 – 8 hours.

Pour cream mixture into ice cream maker and freeze per manufacturer instructions.  Mine takes about half an hour.  About 10-15 minutes in, thin your fluff with the hot water and pour into the ice cream maker with the cream.  Continue to freeze.  About five minutes before its done, add in the crushed candy canes.

Ripen by covering and freezing for at least three hours.

To make into a sunday, pour some thinned fluff on top and garnish with crushed candy canes.

IMG_4721

2 thoughts on “Marshmallow Candy Cane Ice Cream

  1. Shawnee says:

    Sorry to hear about your laptop, Karen! I agree that everything can be related to Sex and the City and Friends, though 😉 Glad you’re back online sharing photos and yummy recipes!

Leave a Reply

