S’Mores Milkshake

I’ve having a hard time keeping my life organized this summer.

I mean, why would I want to clean my apartment when I could go to the beach (weather permitting)?  Or go have nachos on a patio?

 

Plus, have I mentioned before that I am lazy and hate housecleaning?  But I love a clean living space.

It’s quite the conundrum.

So, this week, in an attempt to make myself feel like I was cleaning something and being productive while exerting minimal effort, I decided to clip recipes from the stack of magazines sitting on my coffee table so I could toss the magazines.  And once I clipped them, I decided to organize my recipe binder.  With tabs for categories and everything.

And then I got thinking, why I am going to all this effort when Pinterest would do all this for me at the click of a button?

But I’m an old fashioned kind of gal.  And I prefer to read print magazines.

And when it comes to cooking or baking, I prefer to have a print recipe in front of me, instead of working off a computer screen.  Plus, I’m likely to spill something on my laptop and kill it.

It’s happened before.

So I will stick with the old fashioned cut-and-paste method.

Anyways, it was through this process that I re-discovered the 50 Milkshakes insert that came with an issue of Food Network magazine.

And there was a s’mores milkshake recipe! Remember last week when I told you about the really good one I had?

So I made one.

Hello new best friend!

And hello toasted marshmallows made in the oven.  Who knew I could have the same delightful bonfire taste right from the comfort of my kitchen.

And nothing smells better than toasted marshmallows!

S’Mores Milkshake

(adapted from Food Network)

Serves 1-2

7 marshmallows (bonfire size, not mini)

2 cups French vanilla frozen yogurt

1/4 cup milk

1 tsp chocolate sauce, plus more for garnish

Crushed graham crackers for garnish

Broil marshmallows on foil lined baking sheet until golden brown.  Watch closely!  This happens quickly and you don’t want them to burn.

Put all other ingredients in blender.  Add 6 toasted marshmallows.  Blend until smooth.

Put tsp of chocolate sauce in bottom of a glass.  Drizzle more chocolate sauce around the side of the glass.  Add the milkshake.  Sprinkle with graham crumbs and top with remaining marshmallow.

* I bet these would also be awesome with a shot of marshmallow vodka for a grow-up twist.

The BEST THING to come out of my kitchen in a while!

2 thoughts on “S’Mores Milkshake

Leave a comment