Book Nook: The Lost Girls

I just finished reading The Lost Girls by Jennifer Baggett, Holly C. Corbett, and Amanda Pressner.

I loved it!  It was a great summer beach read.

Sometimes I read a book, and it just strikes a cord with me because of what I’m going through in my life at the time.

That happened with Eat, Pray, Love and now with The Lost Girls.

The Lost Girls chronicles Jen, Holly, and Amanda’s year long journey as they left their jobs and life in New York to travel the globe in search of discovering what they really want out of life.

I feel like I can really identify with the restless feelings Holly, Jen, and Amanda were experiencing before they decided to take their trip around the world.

During the month of July. I felt like I was having a third-life crisis (I’m too young to call it a mid-life crisis).

I’m fastly approaching twenty-eight, the same age the lost girls were when they took off on their adventure.  And twenty-eight is only a stone’s throw away from thirty.  By the time you’re thirty aren’t you supposed to be married and have kids?  When I moved to the town I live in, it was supposed to be a temporary thing, and it’s been four years and I’m still in the same place.  What am I doing still here?

I find myself feeling stuck lately and wondering if I’m letting my life pass me by.  What have I really accomplished?  I feel like I’m looking for something bigger.

I feel like I’m a lost girl too.

Props to Jen, Holly, and Amanda for having the guts to actually do something about it.  They took a dream and made it reality.  They asked themselves where they would go if they could go anywhere in the world, and then they made it happen.

They were fearless.  They hiked through jungles, partied in the slums of Rio, met new people, used sketchy bathrooms that required their own supply of toilet paper and hand sanitizer, practiced yoga in India, and bungee jumped in New Zealand.

I wish I could be more like them.

As much as I would love to take a break from life for a year and see the world (well, maybe not India… I need real bathrooms), big grand gestures just aren’t my style.  And I’m too much a scaredy-cat to ever go bungee jumping or jungle hiking (what if I was eaten by a jaguar?).  But I still I feel inspired by Jen, Holly, and Amanda to search for that “something,” I just need to look for it closer to home.

It’s one of the reasons I’ve decided to sign up for a yoga teacher training course this fall.  It may not be taught at an ashram in India, but it’s close to home, and that fits with who I am.

So, as July comes to a close, I may not have all the answers, but I feel like the third-life crisis isn’t so overwhelming anymore.  For me, reading The Lost Girls came at the right time.

If you’re feeling restless, or just love to travel, I highly suggest you read this book!

4 thoughts on “Book Nook: The Lost Girls

  1. Forget what you’re supposed to be doing, when – I see a strong young woman making stuff happen with much more to come! Are there any books on this theme for the retired set? 🙂

Leave a Reply

